Skip to Main Content
"Evidence-based policing," in Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Evidence-based policing is a law enforcement perspective and philosophy that implicates the use of research, evaluation, analysis, and scientific processes in law enforcement decision making. In this entry, we review the nuances of this definition, the research underpinning evidence-based policing, and what agencies employing evidence-based approaches might look like.
"Evidence-based policy in crime and justice," in Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Evidence-based policy in crime and justice is defined here as a conscientious approach to intentionally use research to make decisions about programs, practices, and larger scale policies.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving
What sorts of collaborative partnerships have evolved between policing agencies and the individuals and communities they serve? How do police departments engage in systematic examination of identified problems to develop effective responses? How have police departments aligned their organizational structures to best support community partnerships and proactive problem solving? Just how effective have efforts at community policing been? These questions and more are explored in this reference work.
"Evidence-Based Practice." in The Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice
This chapter begins with a brief history of the evidence-based movement followed by how it has been defined broadly, and more specifically within criminal justice, and provides a brief overview of what evidence-based practice (EBP) entails.
The Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice
This Encyclopedia of Research Methods in Criminology and Criminal Justice offers a comprehensive survey of research methodologies and statistical techniques that are popular in criminology and criminal justice systems across the globe. With contributions from leading scholars and practitioners in the field, it offers a clear insight into the techniques that are currently in use to answer the pressing questions in criminology and criminal justice.
The Criminal Justice System, 2nd edition.
Details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers.
The Handbook of Measurement Issues in Criminology and Criminal Justice
This volume of the series was designed to provide a comprehensive primer on the existing best practices and emerging developments in the study and design research on crime and criminology. The work as a whole includes chapters on the measurement of criminal typologies, the offenders, offending and victimization, criminal justice organizations, and specialized measurement techniques.
Handbook of issues in criminal justice reform in the United States
This handbook provides a holistic and comprehensive examination of issues related to criminal justice reform in the United States from a multidisciplinary perspective. Divided into five key domains of reform in the criminal justice system, it analyzes: - Policing - Policy and sentencing - Reentry - Treatment - Alternatives to incarceration.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.