Skip to Main Content
Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
The Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development mission is to provide a comprehensive registry of scientifically proven and scalable interventions that prevent or reduce the likelihood of antisocial behavior and promote a healthy course of youth development and adult maturity. We also advocate for evidence-based interventions locally and nationally and produce publications on the importance of adopting high-scientific standards when evaluating what works in social and crime prevention interventions.
Campbell Library of Systemic Reviews: Crime & Justice
Systematic reviews of social and economic policies published by the Campbell Collaboration. Includes Criminal Justice.
The Campbell Collaboration promotes positive social and economic change through the production and use of systematic reviews and other evidence synthesis for evidence-based policy and practice.
Evidence-Based Policing Matrix, Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy, George Mason University
The Evidence-Based Policing Matrix is a research-to-practice translation tool that organizes moderate to very rigorous evaluations of police interventions visually, allowing agencies and researchers to view the field of research in this area
Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy, George Mason University
The Center for Evidence-Based Crime Policy (CEBCP), housed within the Department of Criminology, Law and Society at George Mason University, seeks to make scientific research a key component in decisions about crime and justice policies.
Crime Solutions (National Institute of Justice)
The Office of Justice Programs’ CrimeSolutions.gov uses rigorous research to determine what works in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services.
On CrimeSolutions.gov you will find: Research on the effectiveness of programs and practices as reviewed and rated by Expert Reviewers and
Easily understandable ratings based on the evidence that indicates whether a program or practice achieves its goals.
SAMHSA Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center ( U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
SAMHSA is committed to improving prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders.
The Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center provides communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others with the information and tools to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings.
Model Programs Guide (Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: OJJDP)
The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention’s (OJJDP’s) Model Programs Guide (MPG) contains information about evidence-based juvenile justice and youth prevention, intervention, and reentry programs
Evidence-Based Policing in 45 Small Bytes (National Institute of Justice)
This guidebook presents a practical framework for understanding evidence-based policing (EBP). The framework is practical in the sense that it is understandable, feasible, and directly tied to making policing more effective. In other words, it isn’t about collecting data for its own sake, or about doing research for its own sake. Rather, it is about serving and protecting the public as effectively as possible.
Perspectives on Research and Evidence-Based Policing (National Institute of Justice)
Perspectives on Research and Evidence-Based Policing collects the writings of LEADS [Law Enforcement Advancing Data and Science] scholars to demonstrate the impact of EBP across individual agencies
Best Practice Portal (European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction)
Discover what works (and what doesn't work) in the areas of drug prevention, treatment, harm reduction and social reintegration.
EPPI-Centre Knowledge Library (University College London)
The large number of systematic reviews conducted by and supported by the EPPI-Centre have contributed to a broad knowledge base that covers a number of subject areas.
Evidence-Based Practices (National Institute of Corrections)
Evidence-based practice (EBP) is the objective, balanced, and responsible use of current research and the best available data to guide policy and practice decisions, such that outcomes for consumers are improved. Used originally in the health care and social science fields, evidence-based practice focuses on approaches demonstrated to be effective through empirical research rather than through anecdote or professional experience alone.
Find Articles/Media on Evidence-Based Policing / Program Evaluation
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice indexes and abstracts U.S. and international scholarly journals and trade journals on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Date coverage: 1981 - present.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. Date coverage: 1970 - present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts indexes and abstracts international journal articles and as well as books on criminal justice and criminology. Date coverage: 1968 - present.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
ASSIA indexes and abstracts articles on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Sources are from 16 countries, including the UK and US. Date coverage: 1987 - present.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window
Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest News & Newspapers allows searching across a wide range of ProQuest newspaper databases include ProQuest Historical Newspapers, International Newsstream, Canadian Major Dailies, Ethnic Newswatch, and the Boston Globe. These databases can also be searched separately.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian