Web of Science Core Collection
The premier resource on the Web of Science platform, the Core Collection™ allows you to explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. A curated collection of more than 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines, as well as conference proceedings and book data.
The Web of Science Core Collection includes:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) (Coverage:1965-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (Coverage:1965-present)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) (Coverage:1975-present)
- Book Citation Index (BKCI) (Coverage: 2005-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI) (Coverage:1990-present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI) (Coverage: 2017-present)
Web of Science Core Collection contains records of articles from the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals— conference proceedings and books. Coverage of some titles date back to 1900. BU's coverage goes back to 1965. 
Web of Science Core Collection content is selective and indexing is consistent. Every article and all cited references from every journal has been indexed, creating the most comprehensive and complete citation network to support discovery and assessment.
Some special features of the database structure and the Core Collection include:
- Unique Curation - 28 criteria are used to evaluate a journal’s quality before inclusion
- Multidisciplinary - includes sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings
- Cover-to-cover Indexing - included journals are indexed cover-to-cover
- Complete Cited Reference Searching - 1.5 billion cited reference are included in the Web of Science Core Collection
- Organization Name Unification - includes hierarchical structure of over 13,000 institutional names
- Research Funding Data - lets you see who is funding the most impactful research
- Citation Reports - includes a graphical display of publications per year and citations per year, and provides total times cited counts
- Connected to Google Scholar - move seamlessly between the open web and the Web of Science Core Collection
