Books and Articles on Portuguese & Lusophone Literature
Browse books, articles and more on:
- Pequeno dicionário de literatura brasileira byLocation: Mugar Reference X PQ9506 .P4 1980Publication Date: 1980
- A New Bibliography of the Lusophone Literatures of Africa by This updated bibliography lists books in Portuguese about & by authors of Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Sao Tome, & Principe. Literature is divided into Oral & Folk Literature, Creative Writing, & Literary History & Criticism.Location: African Studies Library Reference Z3874.L5 M595 1993Publication Date: 1993
Portuguese Literature from Its Origins To 1990: a bibliography based on the collections of Indiana University by
Based on the outstanding collections of Indiana University Libraries in the field, this is by far the largest bibliography of Portuguese literature published in the U.S., including not only all genres of literature proper from the beginning to the present, but titles in certain areas--voyages of discovery, literatura doutrinal, early history--that have become an integral part of Portuguese letters. Among the works drawn from Indiana University's Lilly Library of rare books are early printings of Monarchia Lusitana, Vieira's Sermons, and the Chronicle of King Manuel. Also noteworthy is the large number of 19th-century journals and of single plays, particularly comedies and reviews. American students of Portuguese literature will find especially valuable the extensive coverage of titles published in the U.S. and Great Britain. In the organization of material, the bibliography follows Library of Congress subject classifications.
Location: Mugar Reference X Z2721 .K86 1994Publication Date: 1994
A Companion to Portuguese Literature by
This companion volume offers an introduction to European Portuguese literature for university-level readers. It consists of a chronological overview of Portuguese literature from the twelfth century to the present day, by some ofthe most distinguished literary scholars of recent years, leading into substantial essays centred on major authors, genres or periods, and a study of the history of translations. It does not attempt an encyclopaedic coverage of Portuguese literature, but provides essential chronological and bibliographical information on all major authors and genres, with more extensive treatment of key works and literary figures, and a particular focus on the modern period. It is unashamedly canonical rather than thematic in its examination of central authors and periods, without neglecting female writers. In this way it provides basic reference materials for students beginning the study of Portuguese literature, and for a wider audience looking for general or specific information. The editors have made a principled decision to exclude both Brazilian and African literature, which demand separate treatment.STEPHEN PARKINSON, CLAUDIA PAZOS ALONSO and T. F. EARLE are all members of the Sub-Faculty of Portuguese at the University of Oxford.CONTRIBUTORS: Vanda Anastácio, Helena Carvalhao Buescu, Rip Cohen, T. F. Earle, David Frier,Luís Gomes, Mariana Gray de Castro, Helder Macedo, Patricia Odber de Baubeta, Hilary Owen, Stephen Parkinson, Cláudia Pazos Alonso, Juliet Perkins, Teresa Pinto Coelho, Phillip Rothwell, Mark Sabine, Claire Williams, Clive Willis.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ9011 .C66 2009Publication Date: 2009
Mar abierto : ensayos sobre literatura brasileña, portuguesa e hispanoamericana by
Ensayos sobre literatura brasileña, portuguesa e hispanoamericana. Corrientes de empatía entre la humanidad que se expresa en portugués y español. Así, por estas páginas desfilan autores como: Haroldo de Campos, Carlos Drummond de Andrade, Fernando Pessoa, José Saramago, Juan Rulfo, Jorge Luis Borges, Severo Sarduy, Octavio Paz y César Vallejo, entre otros.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Seasons of Harvest: Essays on the Literature of Lusophone Africa by
Seasons of Harvest brings together prominent and emergent international scholars united by a shared interest in neglected writers from Portuguese-speaking Africa. A wide range of authors such as Alda Lara, Orlando de Albuquerque, Orlando Mendes, Alda do Espirito Santo and more recognise their place within a larger context of unheard voices, and write essays on their own African experiences - introducing readers to compelling issues of love, gender, race, class, culture, colonialism, oppression, national identity, narrative violence and liberation.
Location: Mugar Stacks PQ9900 .S43 2003Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature by
The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature provides a thorough yet accessible overview of a literary phenomenon that has been rapidly globalizing over the past two decades.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window HLAS is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. New entries, alternating between humanities and social sciences, are added annually. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopediasuccessfully covers the popular to the esoteric. The Encyclopedia is an invaluable reference resource for those studying Latin American and/or Caribbean literature as well as being of huge interest to those folowing Spanish or Portuguese language courses.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ7081.A1 E558 2004 ) and OnlinePublication Date: 2004
Finding Articles
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Digitalia Hispánica This link opens in a new window Digitalia Hispánica is a database comprising over 27,000 e-books and e-journals in Spanish, from publishers located in Spain and Latin American countries. Resources are organized in different subject collections, including History, Political Science, Business and Economics, Religion, Social Sciences, and Philosophy.
- Bibliografía de la Literatura Española This link opens in a new window An index of scholarship in and related to Spanish Literature. It includes citations for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material published in Spain or abroad. It covers literature published in Spain as well as documenting critical writing related to Hispanic and Filipino authors writing prior to independence from Spain.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window HLAS is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly monographs, journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, and electronic resources dealing with Latin America. New entries, alternating between humanities and social sciences, are added annually. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. The collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Contains critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after Jan. 1, 2000. May be searched simultaneously with Contemporary Authors and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window The Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. The collection includes the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), which abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. And Linguistics Database, which includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
Literary Biography
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
Browse books and ebooks on:
- Diccionario de autores iberoamericanos byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ7081.3 .D5 1982 )Publication Date: 1982
Diccionario Espasa literatura española by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PQ6051 .B74 2003 )Publication Date: 2003
A Companion to Latin American Women Writers by
This volume offers a critical study of a representative selection of Latin American women writers who have made major contributions to all literary genres and represent a wide range of literary perspectives and styles. Many of these women have attained the highest literary honours: Gabriela Mistral won the Nobel Prize in 1945; Clarice Lispector attracted the critical attention of theorists working mainly outside the Hispanic area; others have made such telling contributions to particular strands of literature that their names are immediately evocative of specific currents or styles. Elena Poniatowska is associated with testimonial writing; Isabel Allende and Laura Esquivel are known for the magical realism of their texts; others, such as Juana de Ibarbourou and Laura Restrepo remain relatively unknown despite their contributions to erotic poetry and to postcolonial prose fiction respectively. The distinctiveness of this volume lies in its attention to writers from widely differing historical and social contexts and to the diverse theoretical approaches adopted by the authors. Brígida M. Pastor teaches Latin American literature and film at the University of Glasgow . Her publications include Fashioning Cuban Feminism and Beyond, El discurso de Gertrudis Gómez de Avellaneda: Identidad Femenina y Otredad; and Discursos Caribenhos: Historia, Literatura e Cinema Lloyd Hughes Davies teaches Spanish American Literature at Swansea University. His publications include Isabel Allende, La casa de los espíritus and Projections of Peronism in Argentine Autobiography, Biography and Fiction.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography by
The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography is a major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life. This groundbreaking resource providesunprecedented coverage of the region through the lives of its people. Biographical records on Afro-Latin American and Caribbean lives are in short supply. Even as new historical scholarship has invigorated the international study of Latin America and Atlantic history, and even as new departments of Latin American Studies have flourished, no large-scale biographicalreference work devoted to black subjects in the region has ever been attempted. This is a surprise given the enormous influence the people of these areas have had on history, culture, and technological achievement. The Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography (DCALAB) will be published in print with over two thousand in-depth historical biographies of Caribbeans and Latin Americans. From Toussaint L'Ouverture to Celia Cruz to Pele, the DCALAB provides rigorous scholarship on the people thathave shaped the Caribbean, Central America, and South America The print work is only the first step in an ongoing research and publishing project, which will continue to grow online as part of the African American Studies Center. As a continuing publishing initiative, the DCALAB provides the mostwide-reaching source of information ever produced on the lives of Afro-descendants who have shaped Latin American history, with entries written by leading scholars at research institutions from across the globe, linking together the international community of research. Led by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. (Harvard University's W. E. B. Du Bois Institute), in collaboration with Franklin W. Knight of Johns Hopkins University, this project is modeled after two other highly successful collaborations between Oxford University Press and the W. E. B. Du Bois Institute: theAfrican American National Biography (AANB) and the Dictionary of African Biography (DAB). The Caribbean and Latin America represent the largest region of African Diaspora, and this new biographical reference work joins the other two to create the most complete account of black lives in the Americasever assembled. Upholding the high editorial and academic standards of the AANB and the DAB, the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography entries will similarly range from 500 to 2,000 words and include bibliographic notes and citations. Extensive indexing will provide a quick resource for bothpinpointing individuals and browsing categories. Indispensable as a research tool, the Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography will be a milestone in the study of the Caribbean and Latin America.
Location: Available at Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (F2191.B55 D53 2016 )Publication Date: 2016
Student Encyclopedia of African Literature by
African literature is a vast subject of growing output and interest. Written especially for students, this book selectively surveys the topic in a clear and accessible way. Included are roughly 600 alphabetically arranged entries on writers, genres, and major works. Many entries cite works for further reading, and the volume closes with a selected, general bibliography. Africa is a land of contrasts and of diverse cultures and traditions. It is also a land of conflict and creativity. The literature of the continent draws upon a fascinating body of oral traditions and lore and also reflects the political turmoil of the modern world. With the increased interest in cultural diversity and the growing centrality of Africa in world politics, African literature is figuring more and more prominently in the curriculum. This book helps students learn about the African literary achievement. Written expressly for students, this book is far more accessible than other reference works on the subject. Included are nearly 600 alphabetically arranged entries on authors, such as Chinua Achebe, Athol Fugard, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, and Wole Soyinka; major works, such as Things Fall Apart and Petals of Blood; and individual genres, such as the novel, drama, and poetry. Many entries cite works for further reading, and the volume closes with a selected, general bibliography.
Location: African Studies Library Reference PR9340.A52 K65 2008 and OnlinePublication Date: 2007
