by Stacey Duran
Last Updated Jun 28, 2022
40 views this year
Find Articles & More
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America. Date coverage: 1952 - present.
Social Science Premium CollectionThis link opens in a new window“This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.”
Social Sciences Full TextThis link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed. Date coverage: 1983 - present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)This link opens in a new windowThis database contains indexes journal articles and books in the social sciences. Subjects covered in the database include anthropology, economics, education, ethnography, political science, sociology and more. It has broad international coverage. Abstracts are available for half of all current journal articles. Date coverage: 1951 - present.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)This link opens in a new windowASSIA indexes and abstracts articles on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Sources are from 16 countries, including the UK and US. Date coverage: 1987 - present.
Bloomsbury Religion in North AmericaThis link opens in a new windowBloomsbury Religion in North America covers North America’s diverse religious traditions and provides peer-reviewed information for students and instructors of religious studies, anthropology of religion, sociology of religion, and history.
ATLA Religion DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowAn index to journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. Date coverage: 1908 - present with some older items.
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowIndex to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes journal articless, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews. Date coverage: 1906 - present.
GlobeTheoLibThis link opens in a new windowThe Global Digital Library on Theology and Ecumenism [GlobeTheoLib] is a multilingual online library offering access to articles, journals, books and other resources on theology, intercultural and interreligious dialogue, ethics, and ecumenism in World Christianity.
Christian Periodical IndexThis link opens in a new windowChristian Periodical Index provides access to articles and reviews written from an evangelical perspective or of interest to the evangelical community. Prominent subjects include religion, theology, biblical studies and pastoral theology as well articles from journals which put forth a Christian worldview from other disciplines, including science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology and education. Date coverage: 1976 - present.
World Christian DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowProvided detailed statistics on religious activities, growth rates, religious literature, worker activity, and demography for Christian denominations and other world religions. Additional secular data is included on population, health, education, languages,
and communication in cities and regions of the world.
World Religion DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowThe World Religion Database contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion for the period 1900 to 2050.
Old Testament AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Hebrew Bible (Old Testament) studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Provides search for specific scripture passages. Date coverage: 1977 - present.
New Testament AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-authored books, book reviews, and biblical software programs. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Date coverage: 1981 - present.
Religion and the LawThis link opens in a new windowIncludes works on canon law, history of the church & state, religion & freedom, Jewish law, reformation period, early constitutions of the church, religion & politics, the Bible in public schools, and more.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection – Series 1This link opens in a new windowAtla Historical Monographs Collection provides history and religious studies researchers with over 10 million pages and 29,000 documents focused on religious thought and practice, spanning from the 13th century through 1922.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection – Series 2This link opens in a new windowAtla Historical Monographs Collection provides history and religious studies researchers with over 10 million pages and 29,000 documents focused on religious thought and practice, spanning from the 13th century through 1922.
American Jewish NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Jewish Newspapers provides scanned, searchable articles from four 19th and 20th century newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); The American Israelite (1854-2000); and Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). Rights for use by Boston University community supported by the Ted Kyrios Memorial Book Fund.
Searching Across Disciplines
BU Libraries Search (BULS)This link opens in a new windowBU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowThis database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowProject Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT)This link opens in a new windowThis database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters theses are included selectively. Date coverage: full text 1997 - present; abstracts 1980 - present; indexing 1861 - present.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released). Date coverage: varies by publication.
miles from a National Football League stadium in the Southeastern US from 2010 to 2017 to evaluate whether Sunday home games affect religious service attendance.
PressReaderThis link opens in a new windowFull-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowNexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
ProQuest Recent NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowSearchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 3 months ago.
Access World NewsThis link opens in a new windowFind full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
Ethnic NewsWatchThis link opens in a new windowFull text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
ProQuest News & NewspapersThis link opens in a new windowProQuest News & Newspapers allows searching across a wide range of ProQuest newspaper databases include ProQuest Historical Newspapers, International Newsstream, Canadian Major Dailies, Ethnic Newswatch, and the Boston Globe. These databases can also be searched separately.