Skip to Main Content
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Sociology, 2nd. ed.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an authoritative survey of the major topics, current and emerging trends, and contemporary issues in the study of human social relationships and institutions.
A Dictionary of Sociology. 2014.
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
"A Cultural Sociology of Religion," in Annual Review of Sociology
In this article, I review three contemporary streams of scholarship that are revitalizing the cultural analysis of religion, an approach that dates to the discipline's founding. Research from an institutional field perspective focuses on the institutions that shape religious belief, practice, and mobilization. Work on lived religion, including neo-Durkheimian approaches, focuses on religious experience and contested practices of sacralization. Scholarship on religious cultural tools and symbolic boundaries analyzes religion as symbolic legitimation.
Key Thinkers in the Sociology of Religion
Key Thinkers in the Sociology of Religion takes a focused look at the foremost figures in the development of the field. From the groundbreaking work of Max Weber, right up to that of contemporary writers such as Peter Berger and Niklas Luhmann, this volume is an essential companion for the student of sociology of religion.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society marks a unique venture in that it attempts to bring together in a single-volume compendium a state-of-the-art summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology. To do so is to take, admittedly, a "one-sided" approach to the religion-and-society nexus. One could perhaps consider an alternative posture, more ethical in nature-namely, one that considers what religions think about society. This would really be an encyclopedia of religious social ethics, and it is not within the scope of this project.
The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion
The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion draws on the expertise of an international team of scholars providing both an entry point into the sociological study and understanding of religion and an in-depth survey into its changing forms and content in the contemporary world.
The Blackwell Companion to Sociology of Religion
This Companion, edited by one of the best known and most widely respected sociologists of religion, provides essential reading for sociologists and religion scholars. The Blackwell Companion to Sociology of Religion is presented in three comprehensive parts. Written by a range of outstanding academics, the volume explores the current status of the sociology of religion, and how it might look in future.
The Sociology of Religion : A Substantive and Transdisciplinary Approach
The Sociology of Religion is an insightful text that investigates the facts of religion in all its great diversity, including its practices and beliefs, and then analyzes actual examples of religious developments using relevant conceptual frameworks.
The Routledge Handbook of Religion and Cities
The Routledge Handbook of Religion and Cities is essential reading for students and researchers in religious studies and urban studies. The Handbook will also be very useful for those in related fields, such as sociology, history, architecture, urban planning, theology, social work, and cultural studies.
The Routledge Handbook of Evolutionary Approaches to Religion
The past two decades have seen a growing interest in evolutionary and scientific approaches to religion. The Routledge Handbook of Evolutionary Approaches to religion is an outstanding reference source to the key topics, problems, and debates in this exciting and emerging field.
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Religion and Migration
The Bloomsbury Handbook of Religion and Migration presents the story of religion and migration predominantly through the experiences of Muslims, Sikhs, Hindus and Buddhists, considering intersectional issues including race, ethnicity, class, gender and generation throughout. Many chapters are grounded in embodied ethnography including participant observation fieldwork, interviews, oral history collections and qualitative analysis, drawing on sociological and anthropological theory, as well as non-western and historical approaches to religion. Chapters also chronicle migration in regional, transnational, multicultural and populist contexts, examining everyday religiosity and religion across generations. The volume includes chapters on Islam and Muslim identity, Chinese and Vietnamese Buddhism, Filipino and Korean religiosity and Polish Catholicism.
Routledge International Handbook of Religion in Global Society
Bringing together scholars of all ages and stages of career from around the world, the handbook showcases the dynamism of religion in global societies. It is an accessible introduction to new ways of approaching the study of religion practically, theoretically and geographically.
End of days : an encyclopedia of the Apocalypse in world religions
Describes apocalyptic writings in the world's major religious traditions, including Judaism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism. The cross-referenced entries address ancient traditions--Zoroastrianism, as one example--as well as modern apocalyptic movements, such as Arun Shinrikyo, the Branch Davidians, and the Order of the Solar Temple.
Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements
The Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements provides uniquely global coverage of the phenomenon, with entries on over three-hundred movement from almost every country in the world. Coverage includes movements that derive from the major religions of the world and to neo-traditional movements, movements often overlooked in the study of NRMs.
Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements
In this newly updated second edition of the Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements, George D. Chryssides traces the rise and development of new religious movements throughout the world.
The Cambridge Companion to New Religious Movements
New religions emerge as distinct entities in the religious landscape when innovations are introduced by a charismatic leader or a schismatic group leaves its parent organization. New religious movements (NRMs) often present novel doctrines and advocate unfamiliar modes of behavior, and have therefore often been perceived as controversial. NRMs have, however, in recent years come to be treated in the same way as established religions, that is, as complex cultural phenomena involving myths,
Encyclopedia of World Religions
Religion is dominating today's headlines like no other time in modern history. Whether the issue is sectarian violence, stem cell research, or political elections, religion plays a critical role. But what is the story behind the headlines? The Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions gets to the heart of the matter by providing a deeper understanding of the religions that shape our world.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
A compilation of terms, texts, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources. Also includes vocabulary from Neo-Confucian texts, as well as other philosophical and historical sources.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This reference work includes articles on the history, religion, cultural practices, and political economies of Muslims from the seventh-century in West Asia to today’s Muslim societies throughout the continents of Asia, Africa, the Subcontinent, Europe, and the Americas.
Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Includes "articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities" of the Islamic world.
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Judaica provides "an overvew of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to 'Americana' and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures,
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
"Encyclopedia of American Religious History, Third Edition" outlines the numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural histories of religious practices throughout American history. Special emphasis is placed on recent developments in religious life in this country and the historical contributions of people long neglected by mainstream religious historians, including African Americans, Native Americans, and women. In addition, an expanded introduction gives students a narrative historical overview of religion in America.
Global Christianity : a guide to the world's largest religion from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe
Christianity is now a majority-global South religion, with more believers living in Africa, Asia, and Latin America than in Europe and North America.
Handbook of New Age
The New Age Handbook is a comprehensive survey of alternative spiritualities: their history, their global impact, their cultural influence and how they are understood by scholars.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism is the definitive reference to the history and beliefs that continue to exert a profound influence on Western thought. Featuring entries written by an international team of specialists and scholars, the encyclopedia traces the course of Protestantism from its beginnings prior to 1517, when Martin Luther nailed his 95 Theses to the door of Wittenberg Cathedral, to the vital and diverse international scene of the present day.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to World Christianity
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to World Christianity presents a collection of essays that explore a range of topics relating to the rise, spread, and influence of Christianity throughout the world. Features contributions from renowned scholars of history and religion from around the world Addresses the origins and global expansion of Christianity over the course of two millennia Covers a wide range of themes relating to Christianity, including women, worship, sacraments, music, visual arts, architecture, and many more Explores the development of Christian traditions over the past two centuries across several continents and the rise in secularization