Selected Archival Websites
Exhibit Sources: Newspapers
- Accessible Archives This link opens in a new windowEyewitness accounts of historical events, ads and genealogical records published in popular 19th century newspapers including African-American publications. Also includes regimental histories from the Civil War.
- New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2021, please use Nexis Uni.
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1999) This link opens in a new window
Full-page and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Chicago Tribune and all its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1999, please use Nexis Uni.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch a selection of America's historic newspaper pages from 1861-1865 via the Library of Congress.
Article on Confederate treatment of prisoners from New York Times, October 2, 1864 (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers database)
Article on Andersonville prison from the Charleston Mercury, August 26, 1864 (via Accessible Archives database)
Civil War Exhibit Sources in Books
The BU Libraries have many books, both in print and online, that contain exhibit sources about the Civil War. A few examples are shown below, but you can also click on these links to browse for more:
The Civil War (in American History 1493-1945: AM Explorer)
Regulations for the government of Negroes and plantation. 3 February 1864, GLC08446, © The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History (Via American History, 1493-1945)
- The Civil War (in American History 1493-1945: AM Explorer)A collection of documents, artifacts, and other content from the Civil War, part of a larger collection on U.S. history.
Here's how to search this collection:
- Change the drop-down menu in the first line of search form from "Keywords anywhere" to "Subjects" and enter "Civil War" in quotation marks as show below.
- Add additional search terms in other lines and click the Search button, or just click Search and refine your search after.
- Once you have a set of search results, you can limit it to particular document types or click refine search to add or change terms in the Advanced Search form.
The Civil War (in Medical Services and War: AM Explorer)
![[Reports sent from Decatur, Georgia], 1 Oct 1863 - 6 Jul 1864, © Briscoe Center for American History, The University of Texas at Austin](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/15585/images/AMExplorer_Civil_War_5.jpg)
[Reports sent from Decatur, Georgia], 1 Oct 1863 - 6 Jul 1864, © Briscoe Center for American History, The University of Texas at Austin (Via Medical Services and Warfare Collection database)
- Medical Services and War (AM Explorer)Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
Here's how to search this collection:
- Change the drop-down menu in the first line of the search form from "Keywords anywhere" to "Conflict" and enter "AmericanCivil War" in quotation marks as show below.
- Add additional search terms in other lines and click the Search button, or just click Search and refine your search after.
- Once you have a set of search results, you can limit it to particular document types or theme from the menus to the left of the results and clicking on "Apply".
