- Oxford Analytica Country Profiles Country reports which include information on economics, politics, international relations, government, geography, population, demographics, and other facts.
These sources are provided through the databases
ProQuest ABI/INFORM Collection Available from 2008
ProQuest Political Science Database Available from 2008
ProQuest ABI/INFORM Collection Available from 2008
ProQuest Political Science Database Available from 2008
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Reports This link opens in a new window
Each country page in the EIU database provides forecast updates and featured analysis on economic and political events as well as content pertaining to market opportunities, government regulations and the financial services sector.
- CIA World Fact BookProvides CIA data for more than 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Covers a range of topics including economics, politics, geography and foreign relations.
- NatGeo Mapmaker InteractiveDownloadable political and physical maps, country facts and other geographical resources.
- BBC Country ProfilesHistory, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. Bonus: audio and video clips from BBC archives, plus lists of media within countries.
- Worldbank: CountriesNews, data, and research overviews by country.
- Britannica Research Tools (country data comparison)Comprehensive current and historical statistics on the countries of the world for historical and cross-national comparisons. Data can be used for creation of tables and charts or exported for deeper analysis.
- Country Statistical Yearbooks (Research Guide, UW-Madison Libraries)"This guide, presented by the Data & Information Services Center, provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 154 countries worldwide."
- PRS Risk Guide and Service through Nexis Uni The "Country Information Search" brings up several business sources as well as the PRS Political Risk Service, which presents accurate and rigorous analysis of present and future political and economic conditions in the 85 countries most important to international business. The reports are invaluable in planning for changes in government and essential in making decisions about upcoming projects.
Librarian
Quick Reference
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window