Highlighted Articles:
- 100 Years of Cosmology by "Malcolm Longair describes the development of a subject that was little better than science fiction 200 years ago when the RAS was founded, to our present understanding of the origins of what we see on the largest scale in the universe today – a triumph of experimental, instrumental, observational and theoretical astronomy."Publication Date: Astronomy & Geophysics, Volume 61, Issue 1, February 2020
- Cosmic Censorship by "Cosmologists believe the Universe will expand forever, but our powers to observe it will not accelerate at the same rate. What does this mean for the future of astronomy?"Publication Date: Nature volume 415, pages 374–375, 2002
Article Databases
Start with the BU Library Search since it indexes many databases simultaneously.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window This general-interest database provides indexes, abstracts and full-text articles from journal and news sources. The content includes a variety of topics, such as education, business, science, current events, politics, and technology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary science database designed for students and non-specialists. Subjects includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health, medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and special issues of journals. Also covers the New York Times Science Section and cites book reviews.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new window arXiv is an open-access electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
