Featured Database
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (AM Explorer) This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Related Guides
Featured Journals & Magazines
- Global Food History Global Food History is a peer-reviewed, academic journal with an international scope, presenting new research in food history from the foremost scholars in the field. The journal welcomes original articles covering any period from prehistory to the present and any geographical area, including transnational and world histories of food.
- Food, Culture & Society An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
- Food and Foodways Older volumes (Food & Foodways) are in Mugar Stacks TX341 .F695 Holdings: V.1-4, 14-22 1985/86-1990/91, 2006-2014
- Gastronomica Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food.
- Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment Central to the mission of CAFE is work that explores and demonstrates the connections between the full array of cultural dimensions and the environment, ecology, agriculture, aquaculture, fisheries, natural resources, energy, water, food, and nutrition.
- Agriculture and Human Values Agriculture and Human Values is the journal of the Agriculture, Food, and Human Values Society. The Journal, like the Society, is dedicated to an open and free discussion of the values that shape and the structures that underlie current and alternative visions of food and agricultural systems.
- Journal for the Study of Food and Society Now called Food, Culture & Society, An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
- Journal of Sensory Studies Read the international journal that publishes human reactions to basic tastes on foods, beverages, wine, liquor/beer, the environment, medications, and other human exposures in every day life. This is the journal you’ll read for the latest information on experimental design methods and statistical analysis of data on human reactions.
- Graduate Journal of Food Studies The Graduate Journal of Food Studies (ISSN 2578-5583) is an international student-run and refereed platform dedicated to encouraging and promoting interdisciplinary food scholarship at the graduate level.
- CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures / CuiZine : revue des cultures culinaires au Canada nourishes intellectual exchanges on the subject of food in Canada from multicultural perspectives.
- Digest: A Journal of Foodways & Culture Digest, the online journal of the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society, publishes a variety of scholarly articles, research reports, creative pieces and recipes, and reviews related to food and folklore.
- Anthropology of Food Anthropology of food is a multilingual refereed web journal devoted to the social sciences of food.
- American Food Journal (1913-1928) The national magazine of the food field
Featured Books
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new windowBU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- BU Gastronomy Cookbook Library Catalog on LibraryThing Catalog of 3600+ cookbooks and other food studies titles held by the Cookbook Library, a non-circulating collection housed within the Gastronomy program in the Fuller Building,
- The Cook Book and Home Economics Collection. (Internet Archive e-books sub-collection) The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.
Find Books on Foodstuffs
Researching a Single Food or Dish
If the food or dish is affiliated with a holiday or has religious significance, look for books and articles about the food and the holiday or religion. For example:
Search for books or articles about the history of a key ingredient in the dish or about the dish itself. Reaktion publishes an Edible series on single food items. There are also many other books on single foods or dishes:
If you are researching a particular regional food or dish, look at the Gastronomy research guides and course guides with the title "Culture and Cuisine of..." to see if there are encyclopedias, cookbooks, or other books on your country or region, or on an immigrant population who brought their foodways to another country.
The Chinese Diaspora: Books & More
Search for Journal Articles
Searching across disciplines
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Date coverage varies by publication
Humanities
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals. Date coverage: 1907 - present.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Screen Studies Collection brings the Film Periodicals Database, Film Index International, and the AFI Catalog together in one site.
- Performing Arts Database This link opens in a new window Performing Arts Database locates citations for writings spanning the disciplines of theatre, dance, and music. These writings chiefly originate in subject-specific trade journals, magazines, and more established scholarly journals. Some full-text is included. Content is international in scope with the majority of the original content having been produced in the United States and Europe. Date coverage: Generally 1990s - present.
Social Sciences & Business
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed. Date coverage: 1983 - present.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide coverage of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
Women's Magazines
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
Hospitality & Culinary Arts
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles and industry news on all areas of tourism and hospitality. Areas covered include: culinary arts; food and beverage management; hospitality law; hotel management, leisure and travel, market trends. Date coverage: circa 1940 - present
Agriculture
- AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library Catalog) This link opens in a new window Index to the National Agricultural Library, including primary sources on world agriculture. Most useful for pre-2000 coverage.
Search for Newspaper Articles
- Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
