Related Guides
Boston University Libraries Search
Click image to see results of a keyword search for books - plague art
Plague in Art
Art in Science: selections from Emerging infectious diseases (fine-art journal covers) by
Since 1995, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has published Emerging Infectious Diseases, a public health journal that endeavors to improve scientific understanding of disease emergence, prevention, and elimination.Widely known for its leading research in infectious disease, EID is also recognized for its unique aesthetic, which brings together visual art from across periods and, through prose, makes it relatable to the journal's science-minded readership.In Art in Science: Selections from Emerging Infectious Diseases, the journal's highly popular fine-art covers are contextualized with essays that address how the featured art relates to science, and to us all. Through the combined covers and essays, the journal's contents - topics such asinfections, contagions, disease emergence, antimicrobial resistance - find larger context amid topics such as poverty and war, the hazards of global travel, natural disasters, and human-animal interactions.This collection of 92 excerpts and covers from Emerging Infectious Diseases will be of interest to readers of the journal or to anyone who wishes to reach across the aisle between art and science.
Publication Date: 2014 online
The Culture of AIDS in Africa : hope and healing through music and the arts [photography] by
The Culture of AIDS in Africa enters into the many worlds of expression brought forth across this vast continent by the ravaging presence of HIV/AIDS. Africans and non-Africans, physicians and social scientists, journalists and documentarians share here a common and essential interest inunderstanding creative expression in crushing and uncertain times. They investigate and engage the social networks, power relationships, and cultural structures that enable the arts to convey messages of hope and healing, and of knowledge and good counsel to the wider community. And from Africa tothe wider world, they bring intimate, inspiring portraits of the performers, artists, communities, and organizations that have shared with them their insights and the sense they have made of their lives and actions from deep within this devastating epidemic.Covering the wide expanse of the African continent, the 30 chapters include explorations of, for example, the use of music to cope with AIDS; the relationship between music, HIV/AIDS, and social change; visual approaches to HIV literacy; radio and television as tools for "edutainment;" severalindividual artists' confrontations with HIV/AIDS; various performance groups' response to the epidemic; combating HIV/AIDS with local cultural performance; and more. Source material, such as song lyrics and interviews, weaves throughout the collection, and contributions by editors Gregory Baz andJudah M. Cohen bookend the whole, to bring together a vast array of perspectives and sources into a nuanced and profoundly affective portrayal of the intricate relationship between HIV/AIDS and the arts in Africa.
Publication Date: 2011 online
The Deluge, the Plague--Paolo Uccello by
A meditation on a painting--and on the history of memory, imagery, and culture.
European Art of the Fourteenth Century by
Fourteenth-century Europe was ravaged by famine, war, and, most devastatingly, the Black Plague. These widespread crises inspired a mystical religiosity, which emphasized both ecstatic joy and extreme suffering, producing emotionally charged and often graphic depictions of the Crucifixion and the martyrdoms of the saints. While the great boom of cathedral building that had marked the previous century waned, cathedrals continued to serve as the centers of religious life and artistic creation. Wealthy patrons sponsored the production of elaborate altarpieces, as well as smaller panel paintings and religious statues for private devotional use. A growing literate elite created a demand for both richly decorated prayer books and volumes on secular topics. In Italy, the foremost Sienese painter, Duccio, sought to synthesize northern, Gothic influences with eastern, Byzantine ones, while the groundbreaking Florentine Giotto moved toward the depiction of three-dimensional figures in his wall paintings. This third volume in the Art through the Centuries series highlights the most noteworthy concepts, geographic centers, and artists of this turbulent century. Important facts about the subjects under discussion are summarized in the margins of each entry, and salient features of the illustrated artworks are identified and discussed.
Call Number: Mugar Stacks N6310 .B3713 2007
Hope and Healing : painting in Italy in a time of plague, 1500-1800 by
The bubonic plague ravaged early modern Europe from the mid-fourteenth to the early eighteenth centuries, striking so often and in so many localities that people constantly were on guard against the scourge. Hope and Healing explores the response of the visual arts to this omnipresent aura of death, decay, and tragedy in the early modern European experience, focusing on Italy between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. An esteemed group of contributors draws on a wide range of materials, including diaries, medical and devotional treatises, poetry, sermons, letters, and chapbooks to illuminate the various aesthetic, social, and religious concerns that preoccupied artists, patrons, and the general populace. This vibrant and fascinating volume ultimately offers a fresh and intriguing perspective on the forces and concerns that shaped early modern Italian art.
Call Number: Mugar Stacks ND615 .H67 2005 print only, online selections
Images of Plague and Pestilence: iconography and iconology by Call Number: Mugar Stacks N8243.S5 B63 2000
Piety and plague : from Byzantium to the Baroque by
Plague was one of the enduring facts of everyday life on the European continent, from earliest antiquity through the first decades of the eighteenth century. It represents one of the most important influences on the development of Europe's society and culture. In order to understand the changing circumstances of the political, economic, ecclesiastical, artistic, and social history of that continent, it is important to understand epidemic disease and society's response to it. To date, the largest portion of scholarship about plague has focused on its political, economic, demographic, and medical aspects. This interdisciplinary volume offers greater coverage of the religious and the psychological dimensions of plague and of European society's response to it through many centuries and over a wide geographical terrain, including Byzantium. This research draws extensively upon a wealth of primary sources, both printed and painted, and includes ample bibliographical reference to the most important secondary sources, providing much new insight into how generations of Europeans responded to this dread disease.
Call Number: Theology Library Stacks RC178.A1 P54 2007
Venezia e la peste : 1348-1797Call Number: Mugar Stacks RC178.I9 V468
Sources with illustrations
The Black Death by
The Black Death is the name most commonly given to the pandemic of bubonic plague that ravaged the medieval world in the late 1340s. From Central Asia, the plague swept through Europe, leaving millions of dead in its wake. Between a quarter and a third of Europe's population died, and in England the population fell from nearly six million to just over three million. Sean Martin looks at the origins of the disease and traces its terrible march through Europe from the Italian cities to the far-flung corners of Scandinavia. He describes contemporary responses to the plague and makes clear how helpless the medicine of the day was in the face of it. He examines the renewed persecution of the Jews, blamed by many Christians for the spread of the disease, and highlights the bizarre attempts by such groups as the Flagellants to ward off what they saw as the wrath of God.
Publication Date: 2008 online
Epidemics: Hate and Compassion from the Plague of Athens to AIDS by
(p.ix) List of Figures and Maps
Samuel K. Cohn, Jr.
Figures
1.1. Plague in an Ancient City, Michael Sweerts, c.1652. Courtesy of Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Gift of the Ahmanson Foundation (AC1997.10.1). 9
3.1. Burning of Jews c.1348, from the Nuremberg Chronicle, 1493. Courtesy of Special Collections, University of Glasgow. 49
4.1. San Bernardino preaching in Piazza del Campo, Siena. Sano di Pietro, 1440s, Museo del Duomo. Image supplied by Alamy. 82
4.2. San Rocco, Il Parmigianino, 1527, Basilica di San Petronio a Bologna.Courtesy Archivio Arcivescovile, Bolgona. 84
6.1. Plague in Milan, 1630, Colonna infame. Courtesy of Centre for Research Collections, University of Edinburgh. 154
8.1. Cholera riot Astrakhan, 1892, Le Petit Journal. Image supplied by Alamy. 195
12.1. Smallpox pesthouse, Indiana, 1898. Courtesy of University Archives, Indiana University. 285
17.1. Memphis Martyrs. Courtesy of Memphis Martyrs Park. 389
20.1. Treat ’Em Rough. Courtesy of the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. 436
21.1. Marion Johnson, ambulance driver; Evening Public Ledger, 23 October 1918, 10. Courtesy of the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. 455
23.1. Epidemic soup kitchen at the Sydenham Manual Training Centre, Christchurch, 1918. Courtesy of Christchurch City Libraries, File Reference CCL PhotoCD 2, IMG0052. 518
By investigating thousands of descriptions of epidemics reaching back before the fifth-century-BCE Plague of Athens to the distrust and violence that erupted with Ebola in 2014, Epidemics challenges a dominant hypothesis in the study of epidemics, that invariably across time and space, epidemics provoked hatred, blaming of the "other", and victimizing bearers of epidemic diseases, particularly when diseases were mysterious, without known cures or preventive measures, as with AIDS during the last two decades of the twentieth century. However, scholars and public intellectuals, especially post-AIDS, have missed a fundamental aspect of the history of epidemics. Instead of sparking hatred and blame, this study traces epidemics' socio-psychological consequences across time and discovers a radically different picture: that epidemic diseases have more often unified societies across class, race, ethnicity, and religion, spurring self-sacrifice and compassion.
Publication Date: 2018 online
Epidemics and Society : from the Black Death to the present by
A "brilliant and sobering" (Paul Kennedy, Wall Street Journal) look at the history and human costs of pandemic outbreaks As seen on "60 Minutes" The World Economic Forum #1 book to read for context on the coronavirus outbreak This sweeping exploration of the impact of epidemic diseases looks at how mass infectious outbreaks have shaped society, from the Black Death to today. In a clear and accessible style, Frank M. Snowden reveals the ways that diseases have not only influenced medical science and public health, but also transformed the arts, religion, intellectual history, and warfare. A multidisciplinary and comparative investigation of the medical and social history of the major epidemics, this volume touches on themes such as the evolution of medical therapy, plague literature, poverty, the environment, and mass hysteria. In addition to providing historical perspective on diseases such as smallpox, cholera, and tuberculosis, Snowden examines the fallout from recent epidemics such as HIV/AIDS, SARS, and Ebola and the question of the world's preparedness for the next generation of diseases.
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Pestilence and the Body Politic in Latin Literature by
(p.xi) List of Illustrations
Hunter H. Gardner
7.1. Marcantonio Raimondi (after Raphael), Il Morbetto (The Plague of Phrygia), c.1514. National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC, gift of W.G. Russell Allen 247
Courtesy of the National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC.
7.2. Carlo Coppola, The Pestilence of 1656 in Naples, after 1656. Princeton University Art Museum, Caroline G. Mather Fund 252
Photo: Princeton University Art Museum/Art Resource.
7.3. Carlo Coppola, Piazza del Mercato during the Plague of 1656, c.1660. Museo di S. Martino, Naples 254
Photo by DeAgostini/Getty Images. DEA/A. DAGLI ORTI.
7.4. The Coopers (Marilyn Eastman and Karl Hardman) attend to their sick daughter, Karen (Kyra Schon), in Night of the Living Dead (George Romero, 1968). Image Ten 271
Publication Date: 2019 online
Plague and the Athenian imagination : drama, history, and the cult of Asclepius by
The great plague of Athens that began in 430 BCE had an enormous effect on the imagination of its literary artists and on the social imagination of the city as a whole. In this book, Professor Mitchell-Boyask studies the impact of the plague on Athenian tragedy early in the 420s and argues for a significant relationship between drama and the development of the cult of the healing god Asclepius in the next decade, during a period of war and increasing civic strife. The Athenian decision to locate their temple for Asclepius adjacent to the Theater of Dionysus arose from deeper associations between drama, healing and the polis that were engaged actively by the crisis of the plague. The book also considers the representation of the plague in Thucydides' History as well as the metaphors generated by that representation which recur later in the same work.
Call Number: Mugar Stacks BL820.A4 M582 2008 print only
J.N. Hays, Epidemics and Pandemics: Their Impacts on Human HistoryPublication Date: 2005 online
