Images
Quarantine - Lazaretto
Plague Cart
Plague Madonna
Databases
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove best for subject, artist articles. Limited number of images.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Websites
- Artcyclopedia (plague, peste) Many links are broken. Artist name link is more dependable.
- Epidemie nell'arte in Italia, Il Giornale dell'arte, edizione online, marzo/aprile 2020 BOLOGNA (scroll down for), FIRENZE, GENOVA, MILANO, NAPOLI, PALERMO, ROMA, TORINO, TOSCANA, VENEZIA
- Getty Images (plague)* *Over a million images from various sources. Cannot be downloaded. Use the search box to identify images on specific plagues and topics. Then go to Wikimedia Commons to see if copies of the image are available in the public domain.
- Joconde (peste), Musées de France Portail des collections des musées de France
- Wikimedia Commons (plague in art) good source for images in the public domain
Subjects in Art
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s by
Daring in concept and astonishing in scope, The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts is a unique reference work: a topically classified chronology of more than 30,000 artworks from circa 1300 to the present day that take as their theme the subjects of Greek and Roman mythology. Inmore than three hundred major entries, alphabetically arranged by subject, artworks are listed in chronological order, delineating the history of artistic interest in the subject, including painting, sculpture, music, dance, opera, drama, and literature over the last seven centuries. By bringingtogether information heretofore segregated by discipline, time period, or other constraint, Jane Davidson Reid has created an invaluable tool for the study of the history of the arts in the Western world.Ranging from Achilles to Zeus, entries cover all the important mythic beings of the classical world, from gods, goddesses, and heroes to nymphs, shepherds, and satyrs. A headnote to each entry identifies the subject, briefly describes relevant events and episodes recounted in Greek and Romanmyths, and explains thematic cross-currents represented in the list of artworks that follows. A list of classical literary sources follows the headnote. Each listing of an artwork includes the artist's name, the title of the work, and the date of its creation, publication, or first performance, asappropriate. Also noted are the medium or genre of the work, the present location of works in the fine arts, and other pertinent information. Sources of data on each artwork appear in each listing.Enhanced by a comprehensive system of cross-references, a complete list of the sources of data cited in the listings, and an extensive artist index, which will enable readers to locate works by a given artist across numerous entries, this work presents its vast body of data in a way that iseasily accessible to specialist and nonspecialist alike. No other work equals its interdisciplinary scope; no other work matches its usefulness to historians of the arts; and no other work possesses its appeal to scholars, students, and general readers interested in classical mythology and itsenduring popularity in Western traditions of artistic expression.
Location: Mugar Reference X NX650.M9 R45 1993 print only
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by
The understanding and enjoyment of a work of art depends as much on the story it depicts as on the artist's execution of it. But what were once biblical or classical commonplaces are not so readily recognizable today. This book relates in a succinct and readable way the themes, sacred and secular, on which the repertoire of Western art is based. Combined here in a single volume are religious, classical, and historical themes, figures of moral allegory, and characters from romantic poetry that appeared throughout paintings and sculpture in Western art before and after the Renaissance. More than just a dictionary, this text places these subjects in their narrative, historical, or mythological context and uses extensive cross-referencing to enhance and clarify the meanings of these themes for the reader. The definitive work by which others are compared, this volume has become an indispensable handbook for students and general appreciators alike. This wholly redesigned second edition includes a new insert of images chosen by the author, as well as a new preface and index to highlight the ideas, beliefs, and social and religious customs that form the background of much of this subject matter.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7560 .H34 2008 print only [HT]
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography : themes depicted in works of art by
First published in 1998. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Location: Mugar Stacks N7560 .E53 1998 print only
Librarian
Images
Flagellants
Danse Macabre - Dance of Death
Plague Doctor