Books and Scholarly Journal articles
Browse books on:
The Emotional Life of Contemporary Public Memorials by Location: Online accessPublication Date: 2008
The Race Underground by
The competition between Boston and New York played out in an era not unlike our own, one of economic upheaval, life-changing innovations, class warfare, bitter political tensions, and the question of America's place in the world.
Location: Mugar Stacks HE4491.B782 M67 2014Publication Date: 2014
The Nation's First Monument and the Origins of the American Memorial Tradition by
This title discusses the fledgling nation's first monument, Jean-Jacques Caffiéri's Monument to General Richard Montgomery (commissioned in January of 1776), reverence for the classical past. Webster's study is grounded in the political and social worlds of New York City, moving chronologically from the 1760s to the 1790s, with a concluding chapter considering the monument, which lies just east of Ground Zero, against the backdrop of 9/11. and discusses early American art, sculpture, New York history, the Revolutionary era, and Benjamin Franklin in the commissioning and design of the monument.
Location: Mugar Stacks N72.N38 W43 2015Publication Date: 2015
The New Waterfront by
Focusing on large-scale waterfront renewal, the successful redevelopment of oceanfront, lakefront, and riverfront in urban centers around the world. Showcasing more than 100 international projects in magnificent full color, this beautifully produced design survey presents a rich and diverse portfolio of redevelopment work, including museums, restaurants, historic monuments, parks, housing, government facilities, trade centers, ship terminals, and retail stores. Includes a separate chapter on "Major Transformations." The illustrated gazetteer at the end of the book reveals waterfront regeneration as a truly universal phenomenon of our time.
Location: Mugar Stacks HT170 .B74 1996Publication Date: 1996
Breaking Through Concrete by
People have always grown food in urban spaces--on windowsills and sidewalks, and in backyards and neighborhood parks--but today, urban farmers are leading an environmental and social movement that transforms our national food system. To explore this agricultural renaissance, brothers David and Michael Hanson and urban farmer Edwin Marty document twelve successful urban farm programs, from an alternative school for girls in Detroit, to a backyard food swap in New Orleans, to a restaurant supply garden on a rooftop in Brooklyn. Each beautifully illustrated essay offers practical advice for budding farmers, such as composting and keeping livestock in the city, decontaminating toxic soil, even changing zoning laws.
Location: online access onlyPublication Date: 2012- City Bountiful by Since the 1890s, providing places for people to garden has been an inventive strategy to improve American urban conditions. There have been vacant-lot gardens, school gardens, Depression-era relief gardens, victory gardens, and community gardens--each representing a consistent impulse to return to gardening during times of social and economic change. In this critical history of community gardening in America, the most comprehensive review of the greening of urban communities to date, Laura J. Lawson documents the evolution of urban garden programs in the United States. Her vibrant narrative focuses on the values associated with gardening, the ebb and flow of campaigns during times of social and economic crisis, organizational strategies of these primarily volunteer campaigns, and the sustainability of current programs.Location: Mugar Stacks SB457.3 .L39 2005; also online accessPublication Date: 2005
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
Scholarly articles
-
Social Sciences Full Text Description of this database.
-
Social Science Premium Collection Description of this database.
-
PAIS Index Description of this database.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA) Description of this database.
-
EconLit Description of this database.
-
Criminal Justice Abstracts Description of this database.
-
Criminal Justice Database Description of this database.
-
Business Source Complete Description of this database.
Environment & Architecture
-
Environment Complete Description of this database.
-
Greenleaf Online Library Description of this database.
-
GreenFILE Description of this database.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Description of this database.
History
-
America: History & Life (AHL) Description of this database.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
BU Libraries Search (BULS) Description of this database.
-
Project Muse Description of this database.
-
JSTOR Description of this database.
-
ScienceDirect Description of this database.
-
Web of Science Description of this database.
