Research: African Newspapers: Current Newspapers on Africa

Current Newspapers on Africa

Consult the following resources for up-to-date newspaper coverage of Africa and the world:

Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window There are a considerable number of African newspapers available in Factiva. Coverage varies however.
PressReader This link opens in a new window [Log-in required] Access today's headlines in a high-res, full page spread and searchable full-text. Newspapers are available from the last 90 days. African newspapers available are: Algeria, Angola, Egypt, Kenya, Lesotho, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Resources within Nexis Uni include/cover the following countries: Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Mauritius, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. **Note that coverage varies according according to title.

Internet Resources

General News Resources on Africa

African News Search Engine – This search engine searches through 255 news sources from Africa south-of-the-Sahara. A list of the sources included. This search engine only searches news sources that are freely available on the internet and is most useful for news published in the last 10 years.

allAfrica.com -- (Formerly Africa News Online) Organized in partnership with Africa's leading news organizations, it provides easy access to the latest information from and about Africa. Articles are sorted by region, topic, and language (French or English).

Pambazuka News -- "open access, Pan-African e-mail and online electronic newsletter. It is published weekly in English, Portuguese and French by the not-for-profit organisation Fahamu"

Sahara Reporters -- "An outstanding, groundbreaking new website that encourages citizen journalists to report ongoing corruption and government malfeasance in Africa"

BBC News AFRICA

CNN World News AFRICA

African Newspapers By Country

Refer to the menu on the left to view listings of African newspapers available online, from Algeria to Zimbabwe.
Please note: The content of these newspapers may be biased, depending on their publisher. We will check these links regularly, but from time to time links may change or break. Please report broken links or suggestions to Beth Restrick

Current News Magazines

The Africa Report Current issues: African Studies Library Back issues: Mugar Library Stacks
African Business Location: Pardee Management Library
Jeune Afrique Current issues: African Studies Library Back issues: Mugar Library Stacks
New African Current issues: African Studies Library Back issues: Mugar Library Stacks