Top Databases
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
- Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective This link opens in a new window Covers a wide variety of specialties in applied science & technology — acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics. Useful source for issues and trends on the history of business and industry. Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective contains indexing and abstracts for core English-language, scientific and technical publications.
- Balance of Payments and International Investment Position Statistics This link opens in a new window Includes balance of payments and international investment position (IIP) data of individual countries, jurisdictions, and other reporting entities, and regional and world totals for major components of the balance of payments. Balance of payments data are available for over 200 economies and international investment position data are available for over 100 economies.
- Bloomberg Business News Service This link opens in a new window Bloomberg Business News Service provides up-to-the-minute news and prices from financial markets around the world. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Records includes equities, money markets, currencies, bonds, commodities, mortgage-backed securities, and derivatives. Much of the information can be presented graphically. Only available through the Bloomberg Terminal at Pardee Library (no remote access).
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- CEPR Discussion Paper Series This link opens in a new window The Discussion Papers series provides online access to all Discussion Papers published since the series' inception in 1984 – an archive of over 10,000 papers. More than 700 new Discussion Papers are added to the series each year. These papers may have been presented at conferences or workshops and may eventually be published in journals.
- China Data Online This link opens in a new window Subscription to China Statistical Databases through China Data Center which provides comprehensive updated information on China’s economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, including: Monthly Statistics, National Statistics, Provincial Statistics, City Statistics, County Statistics, Industrial Statistics and Statistical Yearbooks. BU’s subscription is limited to 14 China Statistical Databases.
- Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window Time series data from 1980-present detailing the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners. Includes total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group levels. The database contains over 100,000 time series covering more than 180 countries and areas.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window EconLit contains citations and selected abstracts of international literature in the field of economics. It is produced by the American Economic Association and corresponds to the print Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles. It covers journal articles, dissertations and books, as well as chapters and articles in books and conference proceedings.
- Economist Intelligence Unit: Country Reports This link opens in a new window Each country page in the EIU database provides forecast updates and featured analysis on economic and political events as well as content pertaining to market opportunities, government regulations and the financial services sector.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text access to local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Off-campus users need to make two changes under "Settings" to take advantage of library subscriptions: type "Boston University" in Library Links and choose RefWorks next to Bibliography Manager (if you are using RefWorks).
- Handbooks in Economics Provides access to handbooks published by Elsevier North-Holland and available online via ScienceDirect. Access is limited to BU affiliates.
- IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window Provides access to Direction of Trade Statistics, International Financial Statistics, etc.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window This database contains indexes journal articles and books in the social sciences. Subjects covered in the database include anthropology, economics, education, ethnography, political science, sociology and more. It has a broad international scope. Abstracts are available for half of all current journal articles.
- International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window International Debt Statistics (Formerly Global Development Finance Online) focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Data is from Quarterly External Debt Statistics and Quarterly Public Sector Debt databases.
- International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window International Financial Statistics (IFS) from the International Monetary Fund includes data on exchange rates, international interest rates, prices, production, and international transactions (including balance of payments), as well as individual country government, finance, and national account data for individual countries.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- National Bureau of Economic Research This link opens in a new window Contains the full-text of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window The online Palgrave dictionary contains full text of the 2008 print edition and full text of the 1987 Archive edition. It incorporates quarterly additions and updates and contains hyperlinked cross-references within articles and features carefully selected and maintained links to related sites. Sources of further information and bibliographical citations enables users to bookmark searches and articles, along with their own notes, in My Dictionary, or add links to articles on social media sites.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010. OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, and social work.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window The PAIS International database covers current public policy issues and areas of potential legislation. Cited articles, books and documents can date back to 1910 and are listed in the original language. While some full text is included, the index primarily links to full text articles available through existing BU subscriptions.
- Policy Map This link opens in a new window Easy-to-use online mapping and visualization tool. Downloadable U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county or census tract. Types of data include crime, housing, health, education and occupations, derived from both public and proprietary sources.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. OKR contains research from thousands of works including World Bank published books, World Development Reports, Policy Research Working Papers, Economic and Sector Work studies, journal articles, and World Bank Group annual reports and independent evaluation studies.
- World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window World Development Indicators (WDI) contains statistics from over 200 countries including social, economic and financial indicators.
Additional Databases
For more databases, check Business Databases: A-Z or Mugar Library’s Databases A-Z page.
