Featured Resources
- VII Archive Archive of the VII photo agency which was founded in September 2001. VII was named for the number of its founding members, all leading photojournalists and documentarians emboldened and enabled by the ability to easily distribute their work in what was then the new digital age of photography.
- Chouliaraki, L. “The Humanity of War: Iconic Photojournalism of the Battlefield, 1914–2012.” Visual Communication., vol. 12, no. 3, 2013, pp. 315–340. This article examines the changing ethics of war photojournalism. It provides a review of the major paradigms of war communication studies, propaganda and memory studies, to argue that, despite their contributions, neither focuses on historical change in the ethics of war. In the light of an analytical discussion of iconic images of the First World War and Second World War as well as the War on Terror in terms of how they portray the battlefield the article argues that there is a historical shift towards an increasingly explicit visualisation of war, which today tends to emphasise the emotional, rather than physical, impact of the battlefield upon both soldiers and civilians. This shift, it concludes, reflects the contemporary political context of humanitarian wars fought with a view to alleviating suffering, rather than wars fought over national sovereignty.
- Lipton, Joshua. “Ron Haviv: Shooting War.” Columbia Journalism Review, vol. 41, no. 2, 2002, pp. 48–50. Discusses Haviv's work as a war photographer, and his experiences and views with documenting conflict in the Balkans, Sarajevo, Afghanistan, and the stabbing of Manuel Noriega; highlights his picture of a Serb militia member kicking a dying woman in Bijeljina, which documented Serbian war crimes.
Screening Bosnia: Geopolitics, Gender and Nationalism in Film and Television Images of the 1992-95 War by
The Bosnian war of 1992-1995 was one of the most brutal conflicts to have erupted since the end of the Second World War. But although the war occurred in 'Europe's backyard' and received significant media coverage in the West, relatively little scholarly attention has been devoted to cultural representations of the conflict. Stephen Harper analyses how the war has been depicted in global cinema and television over the past quarter of a century. Focusing on the representation of some of the war's major themes, including humanitarian intervention, the roles of NATO and the UN, genocide, rape and ethnic cleansing, Harper explores the role of popular media culture in reflecting, reinforcing -- and sometimes contesting -- nationalist ideologies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
Film & Video
- Bringa, Tone, and Christie, Debbie. We Are All Neighbours. Royal Anthropological Institute, 1993.In a Muslim/Catholic village near Sarajevo, rumors fly and suspicions spread. When Catholic Croats assert control, Muslim businesses are attacked, villagers arrested and harassed, and homes threatened. Three weeks later, neighbors who had been close friends for 50 years no longer speak to each other, and the peaceful coexistence between Croats and Muslims disintegrates into mutual distrust and fear.
- "Sarajevo, Pacified". directed by Andreas Monies Boggild. produced by Andreas Monies Boggild. Danish Broadcasting Corporation, 2007. Alexander Street video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/sarajevo-pacified. 1/7/2020. This documentary is the story about two ordinary people who grew up under rather extraordinary conditions. Emira and Adis both survived the siege of Sarajevo during the civil war in the former Yugoslavia. Now, more than 10 years later, Emira, aged 28, and Adis, 26, tell us about life as a teenager in a war zone and how it has affected them. The interviews in the film vary with shots - at times very brutal - from the harsh reality of the war, both from the official archives as well as private recordings from people who lived in the war zone.
Find more videos:
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I-II: Foundational Films contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
Personal Narratives
- Surviving the Bosnian Genocide : The Women of Srebrenica Speak by In July 1995, the Army of the Serbian Republic killed some 8,000 Bosnian men and boys in and around the town of Srebrenica--the largest mass murder in Europe since World War II. Surviving the Bosnian Genocide is based on the testimonies of 60 female survivors of the massacre who were interviewed by Dutch historian Selma Leydesdorff. The women, many of whom still live in refugee camps, talk about their lives before the Bosnian war, the events of the massacre, and the ways they have tried to cope with their fate. Though fragmented by trauma, the women tell of life and survival under extreme conditions, while recalling a time before the war when Muslims, Croats, and Serbs lived together peaceably. By giving them a voice, this book looks beyond the rapes, murders, and atrocities of that dark time to show the agency of these women during and after the war and their fight to uncover the truth of what happened at Srebrenica and why.Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011
- The Suitcase: refugee voices from Bosnia and Croatia, with contributions from over seventy-five refugees and displaced people by The whirlwind of Europe's longest war in half a century has produced this powerful collection of personal narratives--essays, letters, and poems--from refugees fleeing Bosnia and Croatia. Taking us behind the barrage of media coverage, these stories tell of perseverance, brutality, forced departure, exile, and courage. With startling immediacy and in moving detail, speakers tell of stuffing a few belongings--a handful of photographs, a rock from the garden, a change of clothes--into a suitcase and fleeing their homeland. Contributors from all ethnic groups and every region of Bosnia and Croatia describe their sense of lost community, memories of those left behind, recollections of town squares that no longer exist, and homes now occupied by neighbors. The editors of The Suitcase, themselves representing the diverse peoples of the region, traveled to camps and temporary homes across the globe to collect these stories. An antidote to apathy, this work moves beyond and outside the vicissitudes of daily politics to portray the human tragedy at the center of present-day Bosnia and Croatia. Probing the intimate losses of countless individuals, it delivers a powerful indictment of injustice, militarism, prejudice, and warfare.Location: Mugar Stacks DR1313.7.R43 S85 1997Publication Date: 1997
- Sarajevo Daily: a city and its newspaper under siege by Using the intrepid, multiethnic staff of the city newspaper--where people are risking their lives to get the paper out--as a microcosm of the city itself, the author offers an account of war in Sarajevo.Location: Mugar Stacks DR1313.32.S27 G57 1995Publication Date: 1995
Exhibit Sources: Images
A woman stands in front of the house which was the entrance to the so-called 'Tunnel of Hope' during the war. This tunnel, dug in 1993, was the only way to get in or out of Sarajevo during the siege by Serb forces. Today 20m of the 800m tunnel are preserved as a museum. Around 250,000 people died in the civil war between Bosnian Muslims, Croats and Serbs in the years 1992-1995, during the break-up of the former Yugoslavia.. 2005. Artstor, library-artstor-org.ezproxy.bu.edu/asset/APANOSIG_10313575804
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Library of Congress -- Digital Collections This digital archive from the Library of Congress has over 100 thematic collections of historical documents, maps, moving images, sound recordings, and photographic images.
- Europeana Resources from European archives, broadcasters, museums, universities, research institutes and private collectors.
- NYPL Digital Collections Provides thousands of digital images from the NYPL collections including historical maps, illuminated manuscripts, and prints and photographs. It contains texts and images from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
- VII Archive Archive of the VII photo agency which was founded in September 2001. VII was named for the number of its founding members, all leading photojournalists and documentarians emboldened and enabled by the ability to easily distribute their work in what was then the new digital age of photography.
Exhibit Sources: Newspapers & Magazines
BU Newspaper Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Readers' Guide / Reader's Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window Readers' Guide indexes hundreds of general interest and specialized magazines dating from the late19th century to the present with full text of articles for more recent publications. Date coverage: Indexing - 1890 - present; full text - 1994 - present.
