Where is the Article?
Are you only finding an article abstract but not the full-text of the article? Not to worry, the 
will lead you to the full-text of the article.
Integrated into many BU journal databases, the Find@BU button will help you get to the article in one of three ways:
- If BU has the full-text of the article through an online journal subscription, you will see a link that will take you directly to the article or the online journal.
- If BU subscribes to the print journal in which the article appeared, you will see information about which BU Library carries the print volumes, and the call number of the title.
- IF BU does not subscribe to either a print or online version of a journal, you will be given an option to get the article from another article. A link will take you to our interlibrary loan request form. Once you fill out this form, you will receive a pdf copy of the article within 48 hours of your request.
Journal Databases: Health & Natural Sciences
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Covers journal publications from the nursing and allied health professions. While it primarily covers journal citations, it also includes book chapter abstracts, dissertations, and conference abstracts.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
Journal Databases: Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International indexes women's studies, women's issues and gender-focused journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations and reports worldwide.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide access for journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields.
Tips for Searching PubMed
PubMed works differently from many of the journal databases at BU. You may find that you are overwhelmed by results when you search for various topics in PubMed. You may find it helpful to use Medical Subject Headings (also know as MeSH headings) to make your results more manageable. To learn mroe about MeSH headings, view the following video:
Suggested MeSH Headings for PubMed:
- "Women"[Mesh] AND "Health Status Disparities"[Mesh]
- "Women"[Mesh] AND "Healthcare Disparities"[Mesh]
- "Sexual and Gender Minorities"[Mesh] AND "Health Status Disparities"[Mesh]
- ("Health Status Disparities"[Mesh] OR "Healthcare Disparities"[Mesh]) AND "Minority Health"[Mesh]
