Related Guides
Find Films
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I-II: Foundational Films contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume IV: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives contains award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. The collection also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester's Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.
Featured Films
- Gourmet Trip: Germany (streaming, Academic Video Online) Join us as we head to Germany to explore the tastes, traditions and practice of world cuisine.
- German Restaurant Conversation (streaming, Academic Video Online) In this video you will learn some conversational German phrases that you would need in a conversation in a German restaurant. This includes everything from asking about a reservation, ordering food, asking about specific menu items, getting the waiter's attention and paying for your meal all in German.
- Talk German (streaming, Academic Video Online) A beginner or refresher course in German. Filmed in the attractive city of Munich and the beautiful lakes and mountains nearby, Talk German uses a mix of location shooting, presenters and graphics, prompting viewers to have a go at simple language and make the most of their travels and encounters. Topics covered include greetings and introductions, ordering food and drink, hotels, shopping, travel and leisure activities.
- Deutsch lernen. German learning tips. 49, What is Oktoberfest? (streaming, Academic Video Online) Learn about how Oktoberfest got started and what they do now in Munich every year to celebrate this event.
