Skip to Main Content
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture
With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world.
From Famine to Fast Food : Nutrition, Diet, and Concepts of Health around the World
A country's food culture and eating habits directly impact the health and well-being of its citizens. Economic factors contribute to problems such as obesity and malnourishment. This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" disease.
At the Table : Food and Family Around the World
Some 50 countries are covered in chapters focusing on present-day meal habits in Europe, Asia, the Middle East, Africa, and North and South America. The commentary covers everything about the meal, such as the time, the cooking and preparation, shopping for ingredients, the clean-up process, gender-based participation roles, conversation or other social interactions, and etiquette--just about everything that happens at the table.
The Oxford Companion to Food
Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage
A Cultural History of Food
A Cultural History of Food presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers nearly 3,000 years of food and its physical, spiritual, social and cultural dimensions.
Countries and their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
Street Food Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
This encyclopedia surveys common street foods in about 100 countries and regions of the world, clearly depicting how "fast foods of the common people" fit into a country or a region's environments, cultural history, and economy.
The Food and Culture around the World Handbook
This book provides specific information on the food and culture of each of the 195 countries in the world. Designed to be consistent and concise, it uses an outline format that details the cultural factors related to food ( such as geography, ethnic group, religions and education) and the food itself ( such as typical dishes, special occasion foods, meals and service and street food and snacks).
The Oxford Companion to Food
Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.
Food Culture in Germany
Food Culture in Germany, written by a native Berliner, is destined to become a classic as the best source in English for a thorough and up-to-date understanding of Germans and their food—the history, foodstuffs, cooking, special occasions, lifestyle eating habits, and diet and health.
Liechtenstein & Luxembourg