Online resources about Morocco
This page lists a variety of links to images, articles, essays and website that point to various aspects of Moroccan arts and culture.
- Photo Essay: The Blue City of Chefchaouen, Morocco Written & photographed by James Clear. The images in this photo essay are from Chefchaouen, Morocco.
- Marocopedia A platform dedicated to the digitization of Moroccan heritage in all its diversity. Based in Rabat, Marocopedia is made up of filmmakers, journalists, and IT specialists. Our multilingual storytellers invite you to virtually discover and explore a new interpretation of a very old country.
- Stories from Morocco by Peace Corps Volunteers Every Peace Corps Volunteer has a story to tell. Read stories from Volunteers about what it's like to live and work in Morocco.
- Archaeological Sites in Morocco (Archiqoo) 148 Archaeological sites spread across 10 administrative areas in Morocco, The list includes: Archaeological Sites in Morocco, Historical Sites in Morocco, Heritage sites in Morocco, Monuments in Morocco. Website includes site information, images, maps, etc.
Art
- ART IN MOROCCO: GENESIS OF AN ARTISTIC PRESENCE Essay by Farid Zahi Research Fellow, Art Critic Institut Universitaire de la Recherche Scientifique Rabat, Morocco. Click "Artists" on the webpage for profiles and artwork by Maghrebi artists, including from Morocco.
- Art & Life in Africa: Amazigh (Berber) - U. of Iowa Art Essay, University of Iowa Stanley Museum of Art
- Artist: Hassan Hajjaj Hassan Hajjaj is a contemporary Moroccan artist known for his photography, printed fabrics, and films.
- The Fabric of Moroccan Life This exhibition is the first of its kind presented at the National Museum of African Art to focus exclusively on the tradition of beautiful embroideries, textiles and jewelry from the Kingdom of Morocco, located in Africa's northwestern region. The 67 works presented here are selected from the Indianapolis Museum of Art's vast collection.
- Islamic Art, Moroccan Museums Islamic Art Collections in Morocco: provides a list of Moroccan museums and includes images and descriptions of select Islamic art.
- Qoubba Gallery of Arts, Marrakesh Art gallery based in Marrakesh, specializing in Moroccan artists and art.
Music
- Moroccan Music Today: Re-Examined Past, Innovative Future [AfroPop] Audio program exploring how artists are preserving styles like Gnawa, brought to Morocco by slaves from West Africa, and rwayes, Amazigh troubadour music of southern Morocco. We will also hear everything from Amazigh black metal to a band covering Bob Marley songs with Moroccan instruments, along with some female artists who are powerfully staking out their place in male-dominated genres. Produced by Jesse Brent.
- [Article] Music for One World: Moroccan Musical Experience of Diversity, Fusion, Happiness, Healing, and Peace by Mark Reimer. Journal of Global Awareness: Vol. 1: No. 1, Article 4. Although steeped in Islamic religion and culture, Morocco is a land of varying influences and histories, including those of the native Berbers, the Moors and Jews driven out of Spain, those who follow the pious Sufi culture of Islamic spiritualism, and the Gnawa slaves who were brought into southern Morocco by Arabs. The music, customs, values, and everyday lives of these disparate peoples continue to not only blend with each other’s but also to fuse Moroccan music and culture with those of Europe, Africa, and America
- [Article] Protest Song Marocaine. MERIP - Middle East Research and Information Project: Critical Coverage of the Middle East Since 1971. 263 (Summer 2012) by John Schaeffer. A familiar song accompanied the massive protests that began on February 20, 2011 in Morocco. The song, “Fine Ghadi Biya Khouya” (Where Are You Taking Me, Brother?), was first released in 1973 by Nass el Ghiwane, the venerable folk-pop group that continues to dominate Moroccan popular music — its aesthetics and social conscience. It resurfaced in a 2003 cover by the band Hoba Hoba Spirit. And it was broadcast again in the background of the 2011 demonstrations that had much in common with the uprisings across the Arab world, but which in Morocco never became a revolt.
- [Article] 6 Rising Female Moroccan Singers to Have on Your Radar (Jan. 3, 2021) Vogue: Culture. Jan. 3, 2021 by JIHANE BOUGRINE. Manal, Abir, Faouzia, Ilham, Yousra, Jaylann. The Moroccan music industry is booming as young, female artists raise their voices.
Storytelling
- Hikayat - Morocco Site lists other sources to traditional story-telling, "Hikayat", and includes embedded documentary "A Marrakech Tale" by Al Jazeera
- Al Halqa - The Last Storytellers A virtual museum, or exhibit, of the public square Jemaa El Fna located in Marrakech. The site captures activities & performances in the square using film, audio and writing, giving them a lasting presence and making it possible to experience them in new ways. This online platform gives the performances – and, in a way, the square itself – accessibility beyond the limitations of time and space.
- [Article] Meet the master storyteller keeping Morocco's oral tradition alive in the internet age. Article, 30 Sept. 2015. The New Statesman. by Lauren Razavi. Amid declining numbers of storytellers, veteran performer Ahmed Ezzarghani's ambition is to rescue Morocco's thousand-year-old tradition of storytelling from the era of technology.
- [Article] Moroccan Tradition of Storytelling Revives in Marrakech Morocco World News. by Bochra Laghssais. Dec. 25, 2015.
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies