Integrating Theory
As you work on your History of Now assignment, have you:
☐ Defined the sociological concepts you will use?
☐ Demonstrated clear understanding of the theoretical arguments you are using?
☐ Used many different sources?
- At least 3 should be from our course materials
- Any outside readings should be academic and sociological
- External sources must be peer-reviewed
Find Books
The Oxford handbook of indigenous sociology by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2021Indigenous lifeworld is built around dual intersubjectivities: within peoplehood, inclusive of traditional and ongoing culture, belief systems, practices, identity, and ways of understanding the world; and within colonised realities as marginalised peoples whose everyday life is framed through their historical and ongoing relationship with the coloniser nation state.
Sociology in America by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2007Despite that disproportionate influence, American sociology has never been the subject of an extended historical examination. Craig Calhoun assembled a team of leading sociologists to produce Sociology in America.
Black Reflective Sociology by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2011Stanfield creates a reflective sociology viewed through an African diasporic lens that enriches the thinking and practice of social science.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2024This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
Research handbook on analytical sociology by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2021Providing an up-to-date portrait of the concepts and methods of analytical sociology, this pivotal Research Handbook traces the historical evolution of the field, utilising key research examples to illustrate its core principles.
Other, Please Specify by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2018Other, Please Specify presents to a new generation of researchers an array of experiences, insights, and approaches, revealing the power of investigations of the social world.
Postcolonial Sociology by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2013This special volume brings together leading sociologists to explore the concept of "postcolonial sociology," with brand new postcolonial readings of canonical thinkers like Karl Marx, Max Weber, and Robert Park.
Foundational Sources
Handbooks and Guides
- Research Handbook on Law and Marxism
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
- The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Political Sociology
- The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Social Movements
- Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms: The Complete Encyclopedia
- Encyclopedia of American Activism : 1960 to the Present
- Protest Cultures : A Companion
- Political Corruption in America: Volume 1 : An Encyclopedia of Scandals, Power, and Greed
Sociologists
