Exhibit Sources: Images
This September 2009 photo shows a North Korean woman, second from left, reunited with South Korean relatives after decades of separation. From the AP Images database. (AP Photo/ Newsis, Hong Chan-sun)
Image Databases at the BU Libraries
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Online Image Collections
- Africa Focus: Sights & Sounds of a Continent (U. of Wisconsin) Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, 2 categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs...
- Getty Open Content Images The Getty has made almost 100,000 images of its repositories available for use as open content.
- Library of Congress Image Collections This collection contains a mix of restricted and unrestricted works. However, each subcollection has detailed information regarding usage restrictions.
- Life Photo Archive Google also hosts an archive of millions of photographs from the LIFE, stretching from the 1750s to today.
Reverse Image Search Tools
Find an image that you'd like to use, but not sure where it came from? Reverse image searching will allow you to upload an image or input a URL and see where else it exists on the web.
- Google Image SearchOffers the option to upload the image or paste the image URL (not optimized for mobile browsers). Search will yield any matches along with similar-looking (or themed) suggestions.
- TinEyeCan be added to Chrome for quick searches.
Upload the image or paste the image URL to bring up results of where else the image exists on the web.
Exhibit Sources: Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
Family Photos in the News
"Photography show explores many meanings of family." Feeney, Mark. Boston Globe; Boston, Mass. [Boston, Mass]13 Dec 2017.
"Family Photo for a Yank." Chicago Daily Tribune (1923-1963); Chicago, Ill. [Chicago, Ill]22 Aug 1943: SW3.
"Love Those Royal Family Photos? It All Started With Victoria." Gefter, Philip. New York Times (1923-Current file); New York, N.Y. [New York, N.Y]19 Apr 2014: C1
"Family Pictures Make Problem In Decoration: Should Not Be Hung in Guest Room or Parlor." By Elizabeth MacRae Boykin. The Washington Post (1923-1954); Washington, D.C. [Washington, D.C]25 Aug 1938: 13.-photos-it-all-started-with-victoria.html
"Some Chinese Here See Their Children Grow Up in Photos." Lena H Sun Washington Post Staff Writer. The Washington Post (1974-Current file); Washington, D.C. [Washington, D.C]27 Jan 1996: A1
Head, African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm