Related Guides
Databases
Anthropology
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide coverage of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window This database contains indexes journal articles and books in the social sciences. Subjects covered in the database include anthropology, economics, education, ethnography, political science, sociology and more. It has broad international coverage. Abstracts are available for half of all current journal articles. Date coverage: 1951 - present.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of 290 cultures.
eHRAF Cross-Cultural Research
Doing cross-cultural research in eHRAF World Cultures? See the How-to guide link below. In eHRAF, Infancy and Childhood is classified in the OCM as 850. Infant care, specifically, is 854. There is also s link to an essay on cross-cultural research and childhood.
- Basic Guide to Cross-Cultural Research, eHRAF This brief guide takes you through the basic steps of a cross-cultural study using eHRAF World Cultures. After reviewing the history of the HRAF Collection of Ethnography, we start with a discussion of the kinds of questions cross-cultural researchers investigate, and why they want to investigate them. Then we discuss how to choose a sample, how to develop measures, and how to analyze results.
- Explaining Human Culture: Childhood, eHRAF The long length of human childhood gives societies enormous oppor- tunities for shaping a child. Indeed, societies vary considerably in how children are treated and cared for, how free they are to play, and how early adult skills are expected from them. We are concerned in this module with two broad questions: How and why does childhood vary across cultures? What are the consequences of variation in childrearing?
Biology & Medicine
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Date Coverage: 1809 (selectively) - present.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Contains the MEDLINE database of the National Library of Medicine for the current year and previous six years. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts for biomedical literature in English and all foreign languages and is fully indexed.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window A product of the nonprofit organization BioOne, the BioOne Complete database covers more than 200 full text, subscribed and open-access journals focusing on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. About half of the journals included are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers and are exclusive to the BioOne database. Date range: 1960s to present.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Biological Abstracts searches journal articles in all areas of the biological sciences. Like all databases on the Web of Science platform, it also provides citation information — both articles cited and 'cited by' links, allowing the user to follow the literature on a topic both forward and backward in time. Allows searching using BIOSIS indexing, MeSH terms, and CAS registry numbers as well as the more traditional search terms. Date coverage: 1989 - present.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Date coverage varies by publication
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released). Date coverage: varies by publication.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- PrimateLit The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography).
- Aging, Life History, and Human Evolution (Annual Review of Anthropology) This review presents our current understanding of the evolution of aging in humans, drawing on population variation, comparative research, trade-offs, and sex differences, as well as tissue-specific patterns of physical degradation. Implications for contemporary health challenges and the future of human evolutionary anthropology research are also discussed.
Selected Journals in Biological Anthropology
- American Journal of Biological Anthropology The American Journal of Biological Anthropology (AJBA) is the official journal of the American Association of Biological Anthropologists (AABA).
- American Journal of Human Biology The American Journal of Human Biology is the Official Journal of the Human Biology Association. The American Journal of Human Biology is a bimonthly, peer-reviewed, internationally circulated journal that publishes reports of original research, theoretical articles and timely reviews, and brief communications in the interdisciplinary field of human biology
- Journal of Human Evolution The Journal of Human Evolution concentrates on publishing the highest quality papers covering all aspects of human evolution. The central focus is aimed jointly at palaeoanthropological work, covering human and primate fossils, and at comparative studies of living species, including both morphological and molecular evidence.
- PNAS PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals, publishing more than 3,200 research papers annually. The journal's content spans the biological, physical, and social sciences and is global in scope
- Human Biology A worldwide forum for state-of-the-art ideas, methods, and techniques in the field, Human Biology focuses on genetics in the broadest sense. Included under this rubric are population genetics, evolutionary and genetic demography, quantitative genetics, genetic epidemiology, behavioral genetics, molecular genetics, and growth physiology parameters focusing on genetic/environmental interactions.
- Annals of Human Biology Annals of Human Biology is an international, peer-reviewed journal. It reports investigations on the nature, development and causes of human variation, embracing the disciplines of human growth and development, human genetics, physical and biological anthropology, demography, environmental physiology, ecology, epidemiology and global health and ageing research.
- Biodemography and Social Biology Biodemography and Social Biology is the official journal of The Society for Biodemography and Social Biology, devoted to furthering the discussion, advancement, and dissemination of knowledge about biological and sociocultural forces affecting the structure and composition of human populations. This interdisciplinary publication features contributions from scholars in the fields of sociology, demography, psychology, anthropology, biology, genetics, criminal justice, and others.
- Evolution and Human Behavior Evolution and Human Behavior is an interdisciplinary journal, presenting research reports and theory in which evolutionary perspectives are brought to bear on the study of human behavior. It is primarily a scientific journal, but submissions from scholars in the humanities are also encouraged. Papers reporting on theoretical and empirical work on other species will be welcome if their relevance to the human animal is apparent.
- Behavior Genetics Behavior Genetics - the leading journal concerned with the genetic analysis of complex traits - is published in cooperation with the Behavior Genetics Association. This timely journal disseminates the most current original research on the inheritance and evolution of behavioral characteristics in humans and other species. Contributions from eminent international researchers focus on both the application of various genetic perspectives to the study of behavioral characteristics and the influence of behavioral differences on the genetic structure of populations
- Evolutionary Anthropology Evolutionary Anthropology is an authoritative review journal that focuses on issues of current interest in biological anthropology, paleoanthropology, archaeology, functional morphology, social biology, and bone biology—including dentition and osteology—as well as human biology, genetics, and ecology. In addition to lively, well-illustrated articles reviewing contemporary research efforts, this journal also publishes general news of relevant developments in the scientific, social, or political arenas. Reviews of noteworthy new books are also included, as are letters to the editor and listings of various conferences. The journal provides a valuable source of current information for classroom teaching and research activities in evolutionary anthropology.
- Genes, Brain and Behavior Genes, Brain and Behavior was launched in 2002 with the aim of publishing top quality research in behavioral and neural genetics in their broadest sense. The emphasis is on the analysis of the behavioral and neural phenotypes under consideration, the unifying theme being the genetic approach as a tool to increase our understanding of these phenotypes.
- Homo: Journal of Comparative Human Biology HOMO is a fully peer-reviewed journal committed to the publication of research results in biological anthropology and related fields. For example: anatomy, archaeology, genetics, odontology, ecology, demography, palaeontology, palaeopathology, forensics, child growth, evolutionary medicine, health sciences and behavioural sciences.
- Journal of Biosocial Science Journal of Biosocial Science is a leading interdisciplinary and international journal in the field of biosocial science, the common ground between biology and sociology. It acts as an essential reference guide for all biological and social scientists working in these interdisciplinary areas, including social and biological aspects of reproduction and its control, gerontology, ecology, genetics, applied psychology, sociology, education, demography, health and epidemiology.
- PLOS ONE: Physical Anthropology The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported.
- Anthropology & Aging Anthropology & Aging is the official journal of the Association for Anthropology, Gerontology, and the Life Course (AAGE), a nonprofit organization established in 1978 as a multidisciplinary group dedicated to the exploration and understanding of aging within and across the diversity of human cultures.
- Revue de Primatologie The Revue de Primatologie (Primatology journal) aims to unite french-speaking primatology and to broaden its reach. Primatology is of interest to human sciences and finds itself at a crossroads between disciplines as varied as conservation, ecology, paleontology, cognitive sciences or biomedical sciences. The Revue de Primatologie strives to become a privileged place to exchange and interact for these complementary fields, whilst giving a strong scientific value to its contents.
- International Journal of Primatology The Official Journal of the International Primatological Society
- Primate Biology Primate Biology (PB) is an international peer-reviewed open-access journal that publishes advanced research in all scientific areas involving non-human primates.
- Journal of Medical Primatology The Journal of Medical Primatology discusses primates as models to study, prevent, and/or treat human diseases; primate veterinary medicine; primate morphology, physiology, reproductive biology, central nervous system, and cardiovascular diseases; husbandry, handling, experimental methodology, and management of primate colonies and laboratories; primate wildlife management; and behaviour and sociology as related to medical conditions and captive primate needs.
- American Journal of Primatology The objective of the American Journal of Primatology is to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and findings among primatologists and to convey our increasing understanding of this order of animals to specialists and interested readers alike.
- Primates Primates is an international journal of primatology whose aim is to provide a forum for the elucidation of all aspects of primates. It publishes original papers that contribute to the development of the scientific study of primates, and its scope embraces work in fields of biological investigation such as morphology, physiology, genetics, psychology, behavior, ecology, sociology, systematics, evolution, and medicine. Original Articles as well as Review Articles, News and Perspectives, and Book Reviews are included.
