News Photos: Library Databases
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
News photographs showing protests at the White House, via the AP Images database.
Top, left to right: Anti-lynching (1946); Anti-nuclear tests (1958); Anti-Castro (1961)
Bottom, left to right: Anti-Vietnam War (1970); Anti-abortion (1982); Veterans chained to the fence to protest military's "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" policy on LGBT service members (2010)
(Click on image for larger view)
Digitized Newspapers
Digitized newspapers allow you to see news photographs in the context in which they appeared.
Front page U.S. newspaper coverage of disasters: Top, left to right: Hurricane Katrina (2005); the Cocoanut Grove fire (1942); Earthquake in Haiti (2010). Bottom: Earthquake and tsunami in Japan (2011); California fires (2018); Boston molasses flood (1919). (Click image for larger view.)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for specific access information and to search that publication separately. Additional content for some titles is added on a one year rolling basis.
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers: Recent Newspapers
The digitized recent newspapers start with issues from 2008 and are updated approximately every three months.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
More Newspaper Databases
- Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis/Nexis Academic)1980+
Text-only multidisciplinary database that includes current newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts. Date coverage and completeness varies by publication, but generally 1980+. see Search Tips for Uni
Text-only multidisciplinary database that includes current newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts. Date coverage and completeness varies by publication, but generally 1980+. see TV News
Scene from NBC News coverage of the Iraq War, October 17, 2002 (via Vanderbilt Television News Archive database)
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels.
- Boston TV News Digital LibraryBoston area TV news footage from 1961-1999. Includes approximately 1,600 digitized newsreels with footage from WGBH, Cambridge Community Television, WCVB, and WHDH
Reference & Instruction Librarian
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library