Newspapers
The Pentagon Papers, front page of the New York Times, June 13, 1971, via the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. Date coverage varies by publication.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
- Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Access World News This link opens in a new window Find full-text current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and more. Includes local news, editorials, announcements and other sections from more than 10,000 sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window Identifies articles in over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. The index links to full text articles available through BU subscriptions, but does not provide full text content. Date coverage: 1991 - present.
Tips for finding key sources of current news and historical newspapers.
Television News
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
- C-SPAN Video Library Contains all programming since 1987
- Boston TV News Digital Library Boston area TV news footage from 1961-1999. Footage from WGBH, Cambridge Community Television, WCVB, and WHDH
NBC news coverage of scandal involving Bill Clinton and White House intern Monica Lewinsky, 1998, streaming video via Vanderbilt Television News Archive database
News Photographs
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new windowAssociated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
News photographs showing protests at the White House, via the AP Images database.
Top, left to right: Anti-lynching (1946); Anti-nuclear tests (1958); Anti-Castro (1961)
Bottom, left to right: Anti-Vietnam War (1970); Anti-abortion (1982); Veterans chained to the fence to protest military's "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" on LGBT service members (2010)
(Click on image for larger view)
