Images from our Collections
OpenBU
OpenBU is the Institutional Repository of Boston University. It provides access and preservation to the University’s intellectual and creative output, which includes: publications, documents, images, videos, and more. OpenBU is an open access repository, which means that the majority of the works deposited here are freely accessible and discoverable to the world via the web.
African Studies Library on OpenBU
Digital material from the BU African Studies Library can be found here:
- African Studies Library on OpenBUIncludes the following collections:
- Foreign Services Dispatches - Mozambique (1962-75) Available as PDFs
- Paula Hirsch Foster Collection Paula Hirsch Foster's archive of unpublished ethnographic research and doctoral dissertation drafts was generously donated to the BU African Studies Library in 2002 by her husband, Philip Foster (Professor of History emeritus, University of Rochester). Paula Hirsch Foster lived and conducted research among Acholi of northern Uganda between 1954 and 1958 while a doctoral student at Northwestern University. Paula taught at University of Chicago and passed away in 1997 having never completed her Ph.D. dissertation. This archive contains all of her known field notes, films, and slides, and several drafts of her Ph.D. dissertation.
African Studies Center Publications on OpenBU
including the following:
- African Ajami Library AAL is a collaborative open access public repository of aggregated Ajami materials. This initiative between Boston University and the West African Research Center (WARC) is partly funded by the British Library’s Endangered Archives Programme. Included are the following sub collections: Fuuta Jalon Pular Ajami Manuscripts Hausa Manuscripts Mandinka Ajami and Arabic Manuscripts of Casamance Senegal Philippe Beaujard Sorabe (Malagasy) Ajami Collection Wolofal Manauscripts Senegal
- African Studies Center: Books This is a collection of books published by Boston University, which represent the research of scholars affiliated with the African Studies Center during its early years.
- ASC Working Papers in African Studies Series Working Papers in African Studies represent research in progress undertaken by scholars affiliated with the African Studies Center at Boston University, or scholarly work that was presented at the Center. They are listed here in chronological order, beginning with the most recent. It is possible to search for all items by a particular author, on a particular country, or on a particular theme.
Other OpenBU collections of interest
- Seidman Research Papers From the donated materials of Professors Robert and Ann Seidman. Documents include manuscripts, drafts, course materials, papers, correspondence, notes, proposals, as well as other miscellaneous materials related to the professors' Legislative Drafting program at BU, as well as materials related to legislative drafting programs, laws and bills they helped draft and develop internationally.
- Journal of African Christian Biography The Journal of African Christian Biography was launched in 2016 to complement and make stories from the on-line Dictionary of African Christian Biography (www.DACB.org) more readily accessible and immediately useful in African congregations and classrooms. Now published quarterly, with all issues available on line, the intent of the JACB is to promote the research, publication, and use of African Christian biography within Africa by serving as an academically credible but publicly accessible source of information on Christianity across the continent
- African Presidential Research Center (APARC) collection Boston University’s African Presidential Center (APC), also known as the African Presidential Archives and Research Center (APARC) was led by the former US Ambassador to Tanzania, Charles Stith, who began this organization with the intent to chronicle and facilitate developmental growth in Africa. The Center worked with fifteen democratic African countries: Benin, Botswana, Cape Verde, Ghana, Liberia, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, and Zambia.
Librarian
Rachel Dwyer
she/ her
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies