Dress in the Middle Ages by Francoise Piponnier; Perrine Mane; Caroline Beamish (Translator)A survey of medieval clothing, offering an understanding of the cultural and social conditions of western Europe in the 14th and 15th centuries. It draws on paintings and sculpture, documents and literature, surviving clothing, textiles, jewellery and armour.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks GT575.P5613 1997
Daily Life in Medieval Europe by Jeffrey L. Singman; Jeffrey L. ForgengExplore the Middle Ages, a complex and often misunderstood period in European history, through this vivid examination. Details of everyday living recreate the time period for modern readers, conveying the foreignness of the medieval world while bringing it into focus. The volume provides a two-pronged approach to history beginning with a broad sketch of the general dynamics that shaped the medieval experience while at the same time creating a detailed and clear portrait of what life would have been like for real individuals living in specific settings at the time. The reader is introduced to medieval society in the first three chapters, which include information on the life cycle, material culture, and the economy. These chapters provide an understanding of what people ate, what their social lives were like, what they wore, what kinds of jobs they had, and much more. Following are portraits of life in four specific medieval settings, offering in each case a particular example of the type: the village (Cuxham in Oxfordshire), the castle (Dover), the monastery (Cluny) and the town (Paris). Extensive use of documentary sources from each place sketch the broad contours of the social setting and provide details of the everyday experiences of real individuals. The volume concludes with an exploration of how ordinary people perceived the world in which they lived. Original games, recipes, and music are also provided to round out this rich introduction to life in medieval Europe.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks D119 .S55 1999
Everyday Products in the Middle Ages by Gitte Hansen; Steven Ashby; Irene BaugThe medieval marketplace is a familiar setting in popular and academic accounts of the Middle Ages, but we actually know very little about the people involved in the transactions that took place there, how their lives were influenced by those transactions, or about the complex networks of individuals whose actions allowed raw materials to be extracted, hewn into objects, stored and ultimately shipped for market. Twenty diverse case studies combine leading edge techniques and novel theoretical approaches to illuminate the identities and lives of these much overlooked ordinary people, painting of a number of detailed portraits to explore the worlds of actors involved in the lives of everyday products - objects of bone, leather, stone, ceramics, and base metal - and their production and use in medieval northern Europe. In so doing, this book seeks to draw attention away from the emergent trend to return to systems and global models, and restore to centre stage what should be the archaeologists most important concern: the people of the past.
Publication Date: 2015
Documentary Culture and the Laity in the Early Middle Ages by Warren Brown (Editor); Marios Costambeys (Editor); Matthew Innes (Editor); Adam Kosto (Editor)Many more documents survive from the early Middle Ages than from the Roman Empire. Although ecclesiastical archives may account for the dramatic increase in the number of surviving documents, this new investigation reveals the scale and spread of documentary culture beyond the Church. The contributors explore the nature of the surviving documentation without preconceptions to show that we cannot infer changing documentary practices from patterns of survival. Throughout Late Antiquity and the early Middle Ages - from North Africa, Egypt, Italy, Francia and Spain to Anglo-Saxon England - people at all social levels, whether laity or clergy, landowners or tenants, farmers or royal functionaries, needed, used and kept documents. The story of documentary culture in the early medieval world emerges not as one of its capture by the Church, but rather of a response adopted by those who needed documents, as they reacted to a changing legal, social and institutional landscape.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks D113 .D627 2013
The Princely Court, M.G.A. Vale by Malcolm ValeIn this fascinating new book, Malcolm Vale sets out to recapture the splendour of the court culture of western Europe in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries. Exploring the century or so between the death of St Louis and the rise of Burgundian power in the Low Countries, he illuminates aperiod in the history of princes and court life previously overshadowed by that of the courts of the dukes of Burgundy. Taking in subjects as diverse as art patronage and gambling, hunting and devotional religion, Malcolm Vale rediscovers a richness and abundance of artistic, literary, and musicallife. He shows how, despite the pressures of political fragmentation, unrest, and a nascent awareness of national identity, a common culture emerged in English, French, and Dutch court societies at this time. The result is a ground-breaking re-evaluation of the nature and role of the court in European history and a celebration of a forgotten age.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks CB355 .V35 2001
Battle and Bloodshed: the Medieval world at war by Lorna Bleach; Keira BorrillThis collection of articles is the result of an interdisciplinary Medieval Studies conference held at the University of Sheffield in 2009. Brutality and aggression were a stark reality of everyday life in the Middle Ages; from individual rebellions through family feuds to epic wars, a history of medieval warfare could easily be read as a history of medieval violence. This volume goes beyond such an analysis by illustrating just how pervasive the nature of war could be, influencing not only medieval historiography and chronicle tradition, but also other disciplines such as art, architecture, literature and law. The overarching and multi-faceted themes bring together both iconic aspects of medieval warfare such as armour and the Crusades, as well as taking in the richness of textual traditions and matters of crucial importance at the time-the justification for war and the means by which peace can be re-established.
No illustrations. References to illustration sources.
Medieval Medicine in Illuminated Manuscripts by Peter Murray JonesDrawing on the wealth of medical illustration to be found in medieval manuscripts, Peter Murray Jones traces the history of medieval medicine, the artistic traditions which shaped its depiction and the changing attitudes and beliefs of both medical and artistic practitioners. This beautifully produced book is a revised, colour-illustrated version of the long out-of-print Medieval Medical Miniatures first published by The British Library in 1984. Some of the manuscripts illustrated are famous because of the quality of their design and splendour of illumination, but most medical illustration was not work of such refinement and consequently has been largely ignored by historians of art. For the historian of medicine, however, these ordinary manuscripts are just as interesting as the select few because they tell so much of what it must have been like to study and practise the healing arts in medieval times, as well as providing evidence of the changing role of the book in medicine. The colour reproductions presented here reveal the extraordinary range and diversity in subject-matter and style of these illustrations. Peter Murray Jones provides the context, considering each picture as an integral part of the manuscript in which it is found, and interpreting it as a document of medical history.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Folio R836 .J66 1998
Medical Illustrations in Medieval Manuscripts by Loren MacKinney.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks N8223 .M25 1965b
The Role of the Scroll : an illustrated introduction to scrolls in the Middle Ages by Thomas Forrest KellyA beautifully illustrated, full color history of scrolls and their uses in medieval life. Why make a scroll when you can make a book? This is the key question that music historian Thomas Forrest Kelly answers in The Role of the Scroll. Scrolls were the standard form of book in Western antiquity, but from the fourth century onward, the codex began to outnumber scrolls. And yet, people in the Middle Ages continued to make them. In these colorful pages, you'll discover remarkable scrolls that range from showy court documents for empresses to tiny amulets for pregnant women, from pilgrimage maps to small, portable actors' scrolls. An alchemical recipe for gold will give you a glimpse into medieval life as a metalsmith, and surveying a lengthy list of gifts for Queen Elizabeth I enables you to observe a royal court party. Lively and accessible, The Role of the Scroll is essential reading--and viewing--for anyone interested in how people have kept record of life through the ages.
Location: Mugar Stacks Z110.S37 K45 2019
Architecture and Pilgrimage, 1000-1500 by Paul Davies (Editor); Deborah Howard (Editor); Wendy Pullan (Editor); Paul Davies
Location: Mugar Library BX2320.5.E854 A72 2013
It takes a broad view of architecture, to include cities, routes, ritual topographies and human interaction with the natural environment, as well as specific buildings and shrines, and considers how these were perceived, represented and remembered.
Medieval Architecture in Western Europe by Robert G. Calkins
Location: Mugar Library NA 5453 .C35 1998
...selection of major monuments of Medieval European architecture.
Building the Medieval World by Christine Sciacca
Location: Mugar Library NA350 .S35 2010
This volume illustrates the creative ways in which medieval artists represented architecture, offering insight into what these buildings meant for medieval people. Such structures were not just made to be inhabited--they symbolized grandeur, power, and even heaven on earth.
Artifacts from Medieval Europe by James B Tschen-EmmonsUsing artifacts as primary sources, this book enables students to comprehensively assess and analyze historic evidence in the context of the medieval period. * Provides a single-volume resource for using medieval artifacts to better understand the long-ago past * Supplies images of artifacts with detailed descriptions, explanations of significance, and a list of sources for more information, which help students learn how to effectively analyze primary sources * Presents a virtual window into many different aspects of medieval society and life, including particular activities or roles--such as farming, weaving, fashion, or being a mason or a knight * Includes sidebars within selected entries that explain key terms and concepts and supply excerpts from contemporary sources
Publication Date: 2015
Medieval Archaeology:an encyclopedia by Pamela Crabtree (Editor)This is the first reference work to cover the archaeology of medieval Europe. No other reference can claim such comprehensive coverage--from Ireland to Russia and from Scandinavia to Italy, the archaeology of the entirety of medieval Europe is discussed.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks D125 .M42 2000
Dress and Society: Contributions from Archaeology by T. F. Martin (Editor); Rosie Weetch (Editor)While traditional studies of dress and jewellery have tended to focus purely on reconstruction or descriptions of style, chronology and typology, the social context of costume is now a major research area in archaeology. This refocusing is largely a result of the close relationship between dress and three currently popular topics: identity, bodies and material culture. Not only does dress constitute an important means by which people integrate and segregate to form group identities, but interactions between objects and bodies, quintessentially illustrated by dress, can also form the basis of much wider symbolic systems. Consequently, archaeological understandings of clothing shed light on some of the fundamental aspects of society, hence our intentionally unconditional title. Dress and Society illustrates the range of current archaeological approaches to dress using a number of case studies drawn from prehistoric to post-medieval Europe. Individually, each chapter makes a strong contribution in its own field whether through the discussion of new evidence or new approaches to classic material. Presenting the eight papers together creates a strong argument for a theoretically informed and integrated approach to dress as a specific category of archaeological evidence, emphasising that the study of dress not only draws openly on other disciplines, but is also a sub-discipline in its own right. However, rather than delimiting dress to a specialist area of research we seek to promote it as fundamental to any holistic archaeological understanding of past societies.