Related Guides
Background Sources
- Africa: an Encyclopedia of Culture and Society Unparalleled in its coverage of contemporary customs in all of Africa, this multivolume set is perfect for both high school and public library shelves. The three-volume encyclopedia will provide readers with an overview of contemporary customs and life in North Africa and sub-Saharan Africa through discussions of key concepts and topics that touch everyday life among the nations' peoples.
- World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route; and pivotal figures such as Marco Polo, Columbus, and Catherine de' MΘdici. Special features include: dozens of recipes representing different historic periods and cuisines of the world; listing of herbal foods and uses; and a chronology of key events/people in food history.
- The Food and Culture around the World Handbook This book provides specific information on the food and culture of each of the 195 countries in the world. Designed to be consistent and concise, it uses an outline format that details the cultural factors related to food ( such as geography, ethnic group, religions and education) and the food itself ( such as typical dishes, special occasion foods, meals and service and street food and snacks).
- The Cambridge World History of Food 'Unparalleled in its knowledge and content', the Cambridge World History Of Food was published in two volumes by Cambridge University Press in 2000. Since then, it has become the go-to resource for anyone studying (or simply curious of) food history and the impact it has had on cultures around the world.
- Countries and their Cultures Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison.
- Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East: An Encyclopedia Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East contains encyclopedic entries arranged alphabetically within ethno-linguistic classifications. Each entry has four main sections: an introduction identifying the language group, where they are found, and their numbers; a brief discussion of their origins and early history; a section on cultural life that includes religion, literature, social organization, and art; and a final section on political organization and recent history.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, etc.) of women in these societies.
- Sundays at Moosewood Africa south of the Sahara; Armenia and the Middle East; British Isles; Caribbean; Chile; China; Eastern Europe; Finland; India -- Italy; Japan; Jewish; Mexico; New England; North Africa and the northeast African highlands; Provence; Southeast Asia; Southern United States. From the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca, New York, presents vegetarian recipes from around the world. Includes a section on cross-cultural menu planning as well as an extensive guide to ingredients, techniques, and equipment.
- The Oxford Companion to Food Over 3,000 entries on every possible food, its history, cultural significance, and culinary usage.
Central Africa
East Africa / Horn of Africa
Southern Africa
West Africa
Head, African Studies Library
Beth Restrick
Contact:
African Studies Library
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
6th floor, Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri, 9am- 5pm
617-353-3726
Subjects: African Studies