Related Guides
Film Databases
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I-II: Foundational Films contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Penn Museum Anthropological and Archaeological Films (University of Pennsylvania) In its 120-year history, the University of Pennsylvania Museum has collected nearly one million objects, many obtained directly through its own field excavations or anthropological research. This collection on the Internet Archive represents a portion of the motion picture film collection housed at the Museum.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume IV: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives contains award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. The collection also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester's Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.
Browse Films
- Noma: A Boiling Point (streaming, Academic Video Online) Noma at Boiling Point delves into the restaurant's kitchen to reveal a harsh and relentless atmosphere. This fly-on-the-wall documentary follows the daily drama in the kitchen over six busy, turbulent months, where head chef Rene Redzepi pursues his unique vision and culinary talent with military precision while exploring the tastes and flavors of the Nordic Region.
- Looking North (streaming, Academic Video Online) For two days the whole world of cooking will meet for a truly unique experience. This film invites you back stage to witness some of the best chefs in the world in action. 20 Michelin Stars will meet in Copenhagen, invited by Rene Redzepi, head chef and one of the youngest and most talented two stars Michelin chefs in the world. With no precedent event, this event is unique.
- Babette's Feast (streaming, Kanopy) At once a rousing paean to artistic creation, a delicate evocation of divine grace, and the ultimate film about food, the Oscar-winning BABETTE’S FEAST is a deeply beloved treasure of cinema. Directed by Gabriel Axel and adapted from a story by Isak Dinesen, it is the lovingly layered tale of a French housekeeper with a mysterious past who brings quiet revolution in the form of one exquisite meal to a circle of starkly pious villagers in late nineteenth-century Denmark. BABETTE’S FEAST combines earthiness and reverence in an indescribably moving depiction of sensual pleasure that goes to your head like fine champagne.
Podcasts
- The Feast: Cardamom is Queen: Sweden's Surprising Spice This week, The Feast looks at the surprising history of Sweden’s favorite spice: cardamom! From its origins in India and the Middle East, how did this unlikely seed pod make its way to the chilly climes of Scandinavia? We break down how cardamom became the flavor backbone in Swedish favorites such as mulled wine (or glögg), flavored coffee, and Christmas sweet bread. Talking with everyone from culinary archaeologists to Swedish-Canadian grandmothers, we’ll uncover the unlikely history of this millenia-old spice!
- The Feast: Supernatural Suppers: An Icelandic Ghost Story his week, we're bringing you the story of a ghostly banquet straight from the sagas of medieval Iceland. A mix of fact and fiction, sagas provide some of the only clues we have about early Icelandic cooking. Today, the island's cuisine may be famous for its fermented shark and its luscious skyr, but we'll learn what was on the menu 1,000 years ago when a dead woman decided to play chef for the night. Find out what happens when you eat the food of the dead and what to do when ghosts show up for their own funeral feast.
