What are "peer-reviewed" or "refereed" articles?
Scholarly Literature Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes American state and regional periodicals, professional association publications, and the major journals on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Subject areas are architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Includes obituary citations.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete is a comprehensive database focused on all aspects of environmental science including conservation, biodiversity, climate, pollution, agriculture and aquaculture, environmental law and policy, urban planning, environmental engineering, and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Google Scholar
To connect Google Scholar to BU Libraries resources, follow these steps:
- Log in to your Google account via Google Scholar
- Click the menu icon in the upper left of the screen
- Click on Settings
- Click on Library Links
- Enter Boston University in the text box (if you are on campus, this will already be done for you)
Newspapers
- Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1993, please use Boston Globe 1980 - Present.
- Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). PLEASE NOTE: For articles published before 1980, please see Boston Globe (1872-1993) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
