A Mountain of Goodbyes
"My luggage is a small vinyl suitcase that holds one change of clothes. It's a bag for a person who has left home for a couple of days, but I don't know when I'll return to my village. Bigger than my bag is the mountain of goodbyes I'm carrying."
Ramón Pérez. Diary of an Undocumented Immigrant from North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories.
Migration to New Worlds
- Migration to New Worlds From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. Explore the rise and fall of the New Zealand Company, discover British, European and Asian migration and investigate unique primary source personal accounts, shipping logs, printed literature and organisational papers supplemented by carefully compiled teaching and research aids.
Exhibit Sources: Images
This March 2016 photo shows a banner at the northern Greek border station of Idomeni. From the AP Images database. (AP Photo/Vadim Ghirda)
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
Exhibit Sources: Newspapers
- New York Times (1851- 2016) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1851-2016. Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additions each year keep it within 3 years of the current year. NOTE: For 2016+ use Nexis Uni.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the following newspapers: Boston Globe; New York Times; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Chicago Defender. See listing for each individual newspaper for date coverage and to search that publication separately.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Searchable digital archive of recent newspapers that offers full-page images of Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Date coverage: 2008 to 2 months ago.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni is a source for newspapers and magazines, trade journals, wire services and transcripts, as well as legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, and information on U.S. and international companies and executives.
- Boston Globe 1980+ This link opens in a new window Date coverage: 1980 - present. Searchable, current article text from the Boston Globe (no images, illustrations or charts included). For earlier editions use Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new window International, searchable, full text coverage of selected newspapers. (Text only; does not include images, charts.) Date coverage: 1977 - present.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images with searchable full text of international newspapers and magazines from the last 90 days, in the original language. Includes computer-generated translations to English and other languages for some publications.
"Rolling Tide of War Migrants: Millions of Americans have trekked from State to State, leaving in their wake vast social and economic problems." New York Times article, May 21, 1944. From New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) database. (Click image for larger view)
Exhibit Sources: Film & Video
Screenshot of an October 2016 NBC News report on a Syrian refugee family and their new life in Texas. (from Vanderbilt Television News Archive database)
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window Streaming video of news and commercials from NBC and CNN plus searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, Fox News, and other channels . Date coverage: NBC video 1968 - present; CNN video 1995 - present.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- BU Krasker Film/Video ServicesCatalog of more than 18,000 film and video titles available for viewing in the previewing room in the basement of Mugar Library.
Look up films by title or do a keyword search combined with "krasker" (e.g. immigration AND krasker, immigrant AND krasker, or migrant AND krasker)
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I-II: Foundational Films contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume III: Indigenous Voices This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices contains documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume IV: Festivals and Archives This link opens in a new window Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives contains award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals. The collection also includes field recordings and edited films by students and faculty from universities and institutions around the world, including Berkeley Media and Manchester's Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology.
- Film Scripts Online (Volume I: American Film Scripts) This link opens in a new window Contains more than a thousand scripts together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. In addition, the database includes facsimile images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted.
Exhibit Sources: Oral History, Memoirs, & Letters
Practicing Oral History with Immigrant Narrators by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2015In addition to the problem of language, conducting oral histories with immigrant narrators often requires special considerations: past violence, cultural sensitivity, and lack of trust. Yet, these narrators are often witnesses to, or participants in, important historical events, or can describe otherwise-undocumented social phenomena. The first book to focus specifically on oral history practices with immigrant narrators, it gives both the novice and experienced oral historian insights into their narrators' needs; provides the tools to effectively plan and execute an oral history project in an immigrant community; includes case studies, additional resources, and templates of important oral history processes.
Doing Oral History by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide is used by professional oral historians, public historians, archivists, and genealogists as a core text in college courses and throughout the public history community.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new windowLetters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories; much material was unpublished. Date coverage:1840-, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920.
- StoryCorpsStoryCorps is an oral history collection of more than 60,000 interviews from different backgrounds. are archived at the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress and shared online and through weekly NPR broadcasts, podcast, animated shorts, and books.
Immigrant Voices: New Lives in America, 1773-2000 by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (JV6450 .I553 2014 )Publication Date: 2014Earlier edition (1986) available at Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (JV6450 .I553 1993 )
The Sweetness of Freedom: Stories of Immigrants by
The Sweetness of Freedom presents an eclectic grouping of late nineteenth- and twentieth-century immigrants' narratives and the personal artifacts, historical documents, and photographs these travelers brought on their journeys to Michigan. Most of the oral histories in this volume are based on interviews conducted with the immigrants themselves.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Mexican Voices - American Dreams by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (E184.M5 D28 1990 )Publication Date: 1990
Voices of the Heart by
A firsthand look at Asian women of the Midwest, VOICES OF THE HEART is a comprehensive and comparative oral history that includes Chinese, Japanese, Filipina, Korean, and Asian Indian women as well as the newer Asian groups of Vietnamese, Laotians, Hmong, Thais, and Pakistanis. Huping Ling gathers these women's heartfelt stories about their journeys to America, their aspirations, their strides in education and employment, their cultural heritage, and their family dynamics. The women featured tell how their experiences align with their expectations of life in America, and the challenges of adjusting to a new culture while preserving their own. These colourful personal stories allow for a unique glimpse into the worlds of these often overlooked women.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (F358.2.A75 L56 2007)ISBN: 9781931112680Publication Date: 2007Asian American Experiences in the United States: Oral Histories Of First To Fourth Generation Americans From China, The Philippines, Japan, India, The Pacific Islands, Vietnam, And Cambodia by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (E184.O6 L44 1991 )Publication Date: 1991
East to America: Korean American Life Stories by
From San Francisco to New York, from Chicago to Los Angeles, this oral history of the Korean American community includes a wide spectrum of people and their stories; a half-Korean, half-African American man addresses the friction between blacks and Koreans; a gay activist talks about homosexuality and life as the son of an immigrant shop owner; and victims of domestic violence openly address this taboo subject. In all, more than 50 people - including a rapper, an array of artists, a Buddhist monk and several fundamentalist Christians - examine where and how they fit into American society.
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (E184.K6 E27 1996 )Publication Date: 1996
Bread to Eat and Clothes to Wear: Letters from Jewish Migrants in the Early Twentieth Century by Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2011
Ulster Migration to America: Letters from Three Irish Families by Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (E184.S4 U47 1991 )Publication Date: 1991
Exhibit Sources: Data & Statistics
- Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets. Date coverage: 1930s – present.
1947 and 2016 polls on refugees from Roper Center Public Opinion Archives database
