Dictionaries
An English-Hausa Dictionary by Location: Mugar Stacks PL8233 .N49 1990 ; also available in African Studies Library ReferenceISBN: 0300047029Publication Date: 1990-09-10
A Hausa-English Dictionary by
This up-to-date volume, the first Hausa-English dictionary published in a quarter of a century, is written with language learners and practical users in mind. With over 10,000 entries, it primarily covers Standard Nigerian Hausa but also includes numerous forms from Niger and other dialect areas of Nigeria. The dictionary includes new Hausa terminology for products, events, and activities of the modern world. Its definitions show the use of Hausa words in context, and particular attention is paid to idioms, figurative meanings, and special usages. As a guide to pronunciation, headwords and illustrative sentences are fully marked for tone and vowel length. The book adopts a unique approach to the presentation of verb forms that clarifies lexical relationships and their correct usage.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL8233 .N478 2007ISBN: 9780300122466Publication Date: 2007-08-21
Hausa-English - English-Hausa Practical Dictionary by
More than 40,000 definitions are presented in this handy reference tool which provides both traditional as well as modern terminology.
Location: African Studies Library Reference PL8233 .A94 1996ISBN: 0781804264Publication Date: 1995-12-01
- Internet ArchiveUsing the top search box will search text, audio and film. Many older books and dictionaries can be found digitized in this collection.
African Storybook
- African Storybook (available online)On the African Storybook website, www.africanstorybook.org , users can find, create, translate or adapt stories for early reading. The stories can be read online or offline or printed from the website.
Hausa Textbooks and Readers
- An Advanced Hausa Reader byLocation: Mugar Stacks PL8232 .J34 1992ISBN: 072860213XPublication Date: 1992-12-31
Getting Books Not Available at BU
There are several ways you can obtain books or articles that we do not own. These include:
-
WorldCat Discovery. WorldCat Discovery allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to borrow books directly from other Boston Library Consortium libraries. Turnaround time is approximately three working days. (How to use WorldCat Discovery)
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 2-4 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
Law Library's interlibrary loan page for Law School affiliates
-
Alumni Medical Library’s ILL form for Medical School affilliates
-
For general inquires to the Interlibrary Loan office, please call (617) 353-3706 or email ILLMML@bu.edu.
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates apply at the Alumni Medical Library.
Librarian
6th floor,
Mugar Memorial Library
Mon-Fri 9am - 5 pm
rdwyer@bu.edu