Image Database
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
- Medieval Studies in Artstor This page highlights Artstor content related to the Early Christian, Byzantine, Carolingian, Ottonian, Romanesque, and Gothic periods in Europe, which include images of mosaics, stained glass, tapestries, illuminated manuscripts, ivories, churches, and cathedrals.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window This index records works of art from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1550 with emphasis on art of the western world but more recently including art works from Coptic Egypt, Lebanon, Ethiopia, Syria, Armenia, and the Near East. The archive includes manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and other media. The Index is essential for iconographical studies of Christian art.
Image Collections on the Web
- Mapping Gothic France With a database of images, texts, and maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries
Selected Manuscript Image Collection Websites
The following list was compiled by Beth Pugliano and Professor Deborah Kahn. Edited by Ruth Thomas and BU Libraries.
- Digital Scriptorium Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American cultural heritage institutions committed to offering open online access to their collections of premodern manuscripts. It is currently in transition.
- Mandragore, base des manuscrits enluminés de la BnF Database of illuminated manuscripts at the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
- Liber Floridus A medieval encyclopedia compiled between 1090 and 1120, the scribed original is at Ghent University Library.
- British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts Use this website to find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library, one of the richest collections in the world.
- e-codices - Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland The goal of e-codices is to provide free access to all medieval and a selection of modern manuscripts of Switzerland by means of a virtual library.
- Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur Database of about 2 million images of art and architecture from 13 countries in Europe, with the majority of the images from the Bildarchiv Foto Marburg.
- Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (CVMA) of Great Britain The Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi (CVMA) is the international research project dedicated to recording medieval stained glass. We have a digital Picture Archive containing more than 28,000 images, most of them in colour.
- Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture in Britain and Ireland The Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture will be a complete online record of all the surviving Romanesque sculpture in Britain and Ireland, at more than 5000 sites. It provides us with a unique window on the aesthetics, beliefs, daily life, preoccupations, humour and technical skills of the artists and people of this creative and formative era from the late 11th century to the late 12th century.
- Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts, Royal Library, Netherlands Browse or search images or manuscripts.
- Mapping Gothic France With a database of images, texts, and maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries.
- The St Albans Psalter This web site aims to display the St Albans psalter in such a way that readers may enjoy its beauty and contents. Commentaries on each page explain simply aspects of the iconography and codicology. These, together with the transcriptions and translations, provide a basic understanding of the book.
- ROMANE Database of the photo library of the Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale de Poitiers.
- Baptisteria Sacra Index (BSI) Baptisteria Sacra Index (BSI) is an international iconographical index of baptismal fonts with photographs of their settings from the early Christian period to the seventeenth century for scholarly research. BSI is affiliated with the Digital Humanities Network at the University of Toronto in Canada.
- Digital Bodleian: Early Manuscripts at Oxford University Discover over a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.
- Digital Vatican Library DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
- The CENOBIUM Project Descriptions and images of cloister capital sculptures at Monreale, Cefalu, Aosta and Moissac.
- The Lordship and Commune Project: A Collaboratory (ICMA) Website developed from Barbara Abou-El-Haj's unfinished work on Amiens and Reims. Includes photographs taken by her daughter in 2006.
- Manuscripta Mediaevalia In German libraries
- Beyond Words: Illuminated Manuscripts in Boston Collections, 2016 BEYOND WORDS: ILLUMINATED MANUSCRIPTS IN BOSTON COLLECTIONS is the first exhibition to showcase highlights of illuminated manuscripts in the Boston area.
- Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen (Codices Electronici Sangallenses) The Abbey Library of St. Gall is one of the oldest monastic libraries in the world; it is the most important part of St. Gall’s Abbey district UNESCO world heritage site. The library’s valuable holdings illustrate the development of European culture and document the cultural achievements of the Monastery of St. Gall from the 7th century until the dissolution of the Abbey in the year 1805.
- World Digital Library Illuminated Manuscripts from Europe This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections.
- Bibliotheca Philadelphiensis Medieval Manuscripts from Philadelphia-area institutions, digitized as part of the CLIR-funded Bibliotheca Philadelphiensis Project.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.
