How to Access CAMP Materials

The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP) is a partnership of research libraries worldwide with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Their goal is preservation of archives and materials throughout Sub-Saharan Africa. These materials are microfilmed and increasingly scanned. They include newspapers, journals, archives, monographs, government publications, etc. Materials exist in various languages, both European and African. We have access to over 10,000 bibliographic entries and this collection continues to grow.

Boston University's African Studies Library is a member of CAMP and as such, has access to CAMP materials. 

Click here to access the CRL Catalog: http://catalog.crl.edu/
***A search box to the catalog is located at the top right of all CRL webpages.

Searching the Collections

BU is not a member of CRL, but all materials (CRL and CAMP) are searchable via the catalog. In order to search and browse CAMP materials specifically, you will need to use the Advanced Search.  Under Location, select one of the three CAMP options: 

CAMP Newspapers
CAMP Monographs
CAMP Serials

For instructions on how to do this, please see:

• Video tutorial:  Accessing CAMP Digital Resources
• Printable tutorial: Searching CAMP Materials Handout

Accessing the Collections

Physical items: may be requested via Inter-Library Loan

Digital items: CAMP is in the process of digitizing their collections; a growing number of digitized materials are accessible full-text via the catalog. Just be sure to be logged in using the proxy server.

Access is provided according to Boston University IP locations, this means that:

• Access is seamless when you are on campus.
•  Off campus, you will need to log in to the EZproxy server so that the CRL recognizes that you are a BU user. For instructions, see IS&T's EZProxy page