Skip to Main Content
Relevant Research & How-to Guides
The Routledge Handbook of Deviant Behavior
The Handbook of Deviant Behavior presents a comprehensive, integrative, and accessible overview of the contemporary body of knowledge in the field of social deviance in the twenty-first century. This book addresses the full range of scholarly concerns within this area - including theoretical, methodological, and substantive issues - in over seventy original entries, written by an international mix of recognized scholars.
The Handbook of Social Control
The Handbook of Social Control offers a comprehensive review of the concepts of social control in today's environment and focuses on the most relevant theories associated with social control.
Handbook on crime and deviance
Designed to review the important developments in the sociology of crime and deviance, this title includes chapters that identify and discuss the topics and research of the field. It covers major sections, including History of the Discipline; Methodological Issues in Crime Research; Explanantions of Crime; and Theory-Based Practice.
The Handbook of Deviance
The Handbook of Deviance is a definitive reference for professionals, researchers, and students that provides a comprehensive and engaging introduction to the sociology of deviance. Composed of over 30 essays written by an international array of scholars and meticulously edited by one of the best known authorities on the study of deviance
Shades of Deviance: A Primer on Crime, Deviance and Social Harm
Written by field-leading experts from across the globe and designed for those who want a clear and exciting introduction to the complex areas of crime and deviance, this book provides short overviews of a wide range of social problems, harms and criminal acts, offering a series of cutting-edge and critical treatments of issues such as war and terrorism, incels and the alt-right, ecocide, trolling, hate crime and chemsex.
The Palgrave International Handbook of School Discipline, Surveillance, and Social Control
Truly international in scope, this handbook focuses on approaches to discipline, surveillance and social control from around the world, critically examining the strategies and practices schools employ to monitor students and control their behaviour.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
The Handbook of Law and Society
Bringing a timely synthesis to the field, The Handbook of Law and Society presents a comprehensive overview of key research findings, theoretical developments, and methodological controversies in the field of law and society.
'Understanding Deviance' provides an indispensable guide to the major themes and theories which have come to form the sociology of crime and deviance, from their origins in the research of the University of Chicago sociology department in the 1920s to the most recent work in cultural criminology.
Key Perspectives in Criminology
This book is an invaluable reference for those new to the field of criminology, who are looking for a clear outline of the major perspectives and traditions found in criminology. The author has outlined the ideas, concepts and traditions of the key theoretical perspectives that drive contemporary debate. Topics discussed include: Anomie theory; Classical criminology; Critical criminology; Labeling theory; Positivism; Post-modernism; and, Subcultural theory.
Handbook of the Sociology of Sexualities
This volume provides researchers and scholars with a broad overview of the contributions of social psychologists and sociologists to the study of sexual relationships and sexual expression across the life course. These contributions include analyses of the dynamics of several types of contemporary sexual relationships – e.g., short-term, long-term non-exclusive, and committed.
Handbook of the Sociology of Mental Health
Now in this updated second edition, the comprehensive handbook of mental health sociology features theory-driven reviews of recent research with an inclusive approach to investigating the myriad ways in which society shapes the mental health of its members.
Encyclopedia of Body Adornment
Over 200 entries address the major adornments and modifications, their historical and cross-cultural locations, and the major cultural groups and places in which body modification has been central to social and cultural practices. This encyclopedia also includes background information on the some of the central figures involved in creating and popularizing tattooing, piercing, and other body modifications in the modern world. Finally, the book addresses some of the major theoretical issues surrounding the temporary and permanent modification of the body.
Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory
This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.