Immigration

BU Libraries Search: BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, and more.

This short video from the Council on Foreign Relations provides a brief overview of why and how migrants leave their homes for diverse reasons:

The publisher Edward Elgar has a lengthy series of guidebooks on migration which include research methods, asylum and refugee policy, and migration and aging. A full list is available here, and the majority are available when searching the title in BU Libraries. 

A full list of journals available through BU related to migration and immigration is available here. Recommended journals include:

• Asian and Pacific Migration Journal
• Comparative Migration Studies
• International Migration
• International Migration Review
• Journal of Immigrant and Minority Health
• Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies
• Journal of Migration and Health
• Migration and Society

Migration and Immigration Databases

• Trends and Policy: U.S. Immigration: Documents, from 1790-present, include U.S. immigration laws and other content from the legislative branch, reports and statistics from the executive and judicial branches and news content to provide additional information and context. Statistics from many reports have been extracted and converted into CSV and Excel tables.
• Immigration Records of the INS (1880-1930): Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the massive immigration wave of 1880-1930, especially among Japanese and Chinese communities.
• Opposing Viewpoints: Opposing Viewpoints helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
• Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration: Major topics covered in this collection include inflation, bilingual education, police brutality, political unrest in Latin America, Haitian refugees, and immigration (legal and otherwise), Puerto Rican self-determination, and the U.S. Navy’s use of Vieques Island. 

Searching Across Disciplines

• Academic Search Premier:  Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.

• ScienceDirect: ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. 

• Project Muse: Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.

• JSTOR: This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.