Skip to Main Content
Companions to the History of Architecture
Unprecedented in its in-depth coverage, and with over 500 illustrations, photographs, and architectural drawings the multi-volume Companions to the History of Architecture offers an indispensable resource on architectural thought and practice ranging from the 15th century to the present day.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Architectural Research Methods
A practical guide to research for architects and designers--now updated and expanded! From searching for the best glass to prevent glare to determining how clients might react to the color choice for restaurant walls, research is a crucial tool that architects must master in order to effectively address the technical, aesthetic, and behavioral issues that arise in their work.
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture
The Dictionary of Islamic Architecture provides the fullest range of artistic, technical, archaeological, cultural and biographical data for the entire geographical and chronological spread of Islamic architecture - from West Africa through the Middle East to Indonesia, and from the seventh to the eighteenth centuries of the Common Era. Over 500 entries are arranged alphabetically and fully cross-referenced and indexed to permit easy access to the text and to link items of related interest.
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history.
The Oxford Companion to Architecture
Contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions.
A Dictionary of Ancient near Eastern Architecture
This Dictionary gives a comprehensive survey of the whole range of ancient Near Eastern architecture from the Neolithic round huts in Palestine to the giant temples of Ptolemaic Egypt.
American architecture : an illustrated encyclopedia
Defines and illustrates architectural terms relating to building style, structural components, and architectural ornaments.
The Oxford Dictionary of Architecture (4 ed.)
Beautifully illustrated and written in a clear and concise style, this dictionary covers every period of Western architectural history.
Architect's Illustrated Pocket Dictionary
This pocket-sized Dictionary offers huge coverage for the 40,000+ people studying or working in architecture, construction or any of the built environment fields. From Abaciscus to Zophorus, the reader is able to quickly track down precisely the term they are looking for
Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture
The Historical Dictionary of Neoclassical Art and Architecture provides an overview of Neoclassicism, focusing on its major artists, architects, stylistic subcategories, ideas, and historical framework of the 18th century style found mainly in Europe and the United States.
Historical dictionary of architecture
This dictionary provides a historical overview of the major architectural developments and styles, building materials and types, major structures and locations, sites and architects. Historical eras like ancient Egyptian architecture and the Renaissance in Europe and movements such as Art Deco are covered.