Audio Sources at and via BU
BU Libraries Search covers all our physical audio collections and most of the contents of online sources, subscription or open access. Refine results to audio/video. Our physical collection includes CDs, tapes, and phonodiscs (primarily LPs).
One subscription audio source is particularly valuable for ethnomusicology.
- Music & Performing Arts (Audio & Video Collections) This link opens in a new windowMusic & Performing Arts' collections stream American Song, Classical, Contemporary World, Jazz, Popular, and Smithsonian's Global Sound. Search results include lnks to the full text of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (1997-2001), with additional audio examples. Click on World Music tab to browse by Cultural Groups, Places and other indexes relevant to ethnomusicology.
Video Sources at and via BU
BU Libraries Search covers all our physical video collections and most of the contents of online sources, subscription or open access. Refine results to audio/video. The Music Library's physical collection includes concerts and music documentaries. BU Libraries Search also covers videos in the general Krasker Film/Video collection and most streaming videos to which we have access.
For additional results and more refined searching, go directly to our streaming audio subscription databases that are particularly valuable for ethnomusicology.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a provider of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases available as streaming video. Clips from the videos can be embedded in presentations or shown in class. Films in the Boston University Libraries catalog are licensed to Boston University for educational and research use only, for BU students, faculty, and staff.
Audio and Video Websites
- American Folklife Center: Online Collections and PresentationsIncludes the collections of Alan Lomax, Robert Winslow Gordon and other significant collections of regional and ethnic music
- The Archives of Traditional MusicAudiovisual archive that documents music and culture from all over the world. With over 100,000 recordings that include more than 2,700 field collections, it is one of the largest university-based ethnographic sound archives in the United States.
- Europeana Collections: MusicMusic resources from European archives, broadcasters, museums, universities, research institutes and private collectors. Includes full recordings and short previews.
- EVIA Digital Archive ProjectThe EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
- Internet ArchiveA non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. More than 3 million audio items. Collections include the Grateful Dead and live music archives.
- Judaica Sound ArchivesThe primary mission of the Judaica Sound Archives at Florida Atlantic University Libraries is to collect, preserve, and digitize Judaica sound recordings; to create educational programs highlighting the contents of this rich cultural legacy; and to encourage the use of this unique scholarly resource by students, scholars and the general public.
- Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound RecordingsMultimedia website devoted to the early days of Canadian recorded sound, providing an overview of the 78-rpm era in Canada. The database contains information for 78-rpm and cylinder recordings released in Canada from 1900 to 1950, as well as foreign recordings featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions.
