Education and Psychology Databases
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window This database includes books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations and theses, and technical reports related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21.
- Education Database This link opens in a new window Education Database provides access to a large number of academic publications, including many articles in full text. The scope spans all levels of education and is particularly strong in the topics of special education, educational administration, early childhood education, and higher education.
- Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text provides records for research articles and other scholarly materials, some available in full text, covering all levels from early childhood to higher education. Subject scope includes special education, teaching methods, leadership, global education and much more.
- ERIC (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ERIC is a collection of journal articles, association reports, conference papers, government documents, books and other materials on education-related topics. Some items are available in full text. This database is particularly useful for public policy, curriculum studies, administration, and youth literature.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America.
Music Journal Article Databases
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window The Music Periodicals Database features citations and selected full text of many (though by no means all) music periodicals. The database includes a number of music trade journals and magazines as well as referred scholarly music journals. Also includes a small selection of eBooks.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window Locate citations and selected abstracts for articles and reviews of books, dissertations, recordings, and scores, that are featured in music periodicals. All music-related disciplines are covered. For 1948 through 1969 citations, use the Music Index in print annual volumes at the Music Library's Table 7.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Use the RILM database to identify both in-depth and interdisciplinary writing about music. Conference reports, journal articles, festschriften, book chapters, recordings, critical editions, and reviews, are indexed and described in detail. RILM’s access is comprehensive for the current half-century and, increasingly, is expanding back well into the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window Use RIPM to help pinpoint citations and some full-text of music periodicals ranging from the early 19th through early 20th centuries. The Scope is international and systematically growing. RIPM is notable for its foreign language thesauri and its inclusion of even the smallest, but then-current, music circulars, newspapers, and other periodical publications.
- Music Education Search System (MESS)Citation listings from music education journals, including titles or years not covered in other databases. Also includes the Poland-Cady Abstract Collection of more than 4,500 entries collected by William Poland and Henry Cady of The Ohio State University during the late 1960s. Under a federal grant, these researchers attempted to collect and abstract important writings in the field of music education written prior to 1965.
General/Interdisciplinary Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database that includes scholarly journals in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, business, literature, and other subjects.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
Other Databases
- National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC)Free and easy access to data on the arts and on the arts' value and impact for individuals and communities. A repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public.
- Teaching Africa LibraryPart of the African Studies Center at Boston University, the Outreach Program’s Teaching Africa Library is an extensive collection of materials useful for teaching about Africa for all grade levels. Our collection contains adult and children’s books, both fiction and nonfiction, as well as movies, curriculum guides, clothing, and travel kits.
