New Book by B.U. history professor
This War Ain't Over by Location: onlinePublication Date: 2018B.U. history professor Nina Silber examines the often conflicting and politically contentious ways in which Americans remembered the Civil War era during the years of the Depression, the New Deal, and World War II.
Browsing American History
The B.U. libraries arrange books by Library of Congress call numbers. Though history is covered in every discipline (e.g., women's history may be located in the women's studies call numbers while medical history may be in the medicine call numbers), the major sections for American history are listed below. Almost all these books are located in Mugar Library.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
The following link serves as an example on how to search for materials in a specific historical subject area. Please note: it does not access all titles in our civil war collection. If you want to do a more comprehensive search, please use a variety of keyword terms in the Boston University Library Search (box) on the main library page; you might also look at a particular item record and under the More Information tab, you can click on one of the subject headings to expand ( United States--History--Civil War--1861-1865) or narrow (Gettysburg, Battle of, Gettysburg, Pa. 1863) the search. Please contact the history bibliographer or Mugar Research Center desk if you have any questions.
Book Reviews
- America: History & Life (AHL) This link opens in a new windowSearch Tip: Search for book author's name or the book title and under the box Document Type, highlight: Book Review.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch Tip: On the Advanced Search, under the the box Narrow By, check off Reviews
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch Tip: Select the Searching option, on the left column, check off Reviews.
Print indexes for retrospective book reviews
These unique print indexes contain many citations to reviews of history books that were published in history journals, in addition to other humanities and social science publications.
- Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974A major multi-volume work, this set contains citations to reviews that appeared in more than 450 journals in the subject areas of history, political science and sociology. Entries in author volumes provide title and abbreviated citation to journal; entries in title volumes refer to the author entries. Does not include reviewers’ names.
(Mugar Reference X AI3 .C654) - Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974Companion set to the above entry, this collection provides citations to reviews in an additional 150 periodicals covering the fields of philosophy, classics, folklore, linguistics, music and primarily, literature. Includes reviewers’ names but there is no index to reviewers.
(Mugar Reference XAI3 C652)
Getting Books Not Available at BU
There are several ways you can obtain books or articles that we do not own. These include:
-
WorldCat Discovery. WorldCat Discovery allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to borrow books directly from other Boston Library Consortium libraries. Turnaround time is approximately three working days. (How to use WorldCat Discovery)
-
Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan services allow current BU faculty, staff, and students to request books, articles, book chapters, and other materials that our ILL staff will obtain from other libraries. Books generally take 2-4 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.
-
ILL online request forms for all patrons except those affiliated with the Schools of Law and Medicine
-
Law Library's interlibrary loan page for Law School affiliates
-
Alumni Medical Library’s ILL form for Medical School affilliates
-
For general inquires to the Interlibrary Loan office, please call (617) 353-3706 or email ILLMML@bu.edu.
-
- BLC Cards. A Boston Library Consortium Card allows the bearer to borrow—in person—circulating material from a member library, just as you would from a BU library. Boston University faculty, staff, and students on the Charles River Campus may obtain a Consortium Card by filling out an application form. Medical Campus affiliates apply at the Alumni Medical Library.
