ASA Style Guide
- American Sociological Association Style Guide, 6th ed. The ASA Style Guide highlights and features guidelines for the most common situations experienced by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for ASA journals.
- American Sociological Association Style Guide, 7th ed. he seventh edition of the ASA Style Guide features guidelines for the most common situations encountered by authors and editors in the ASA journal publication process. It is designed to serve as the authoritative reference for writing, submitting, editing, and copyediting manuscripts for journals and other materials using or requiring ASA style. While the structure of this edition is consistent with past editions, some changes have been made to the content. All links and reference sources have been updated or veri ed for accuracy. This edition also updates ASA policy on the use of the singular "they" as a generic pronoun, and includes new preferred terminology and capitalization for race/ethnicity.
Related Guides
- Aging
- Anthropology of Development Theory & Practice
- Boston Data and Statistics
- City Planning & Urban Affairs
- Death and Dying
- Deconstructing Narratives: Race and Racism Stories in American Culture. (WR151)
- HI227: Living in the City
- Immigration
- Indigenous and Native American Studies
- Maps and Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
- Mass Incarceration and Prison Abolition
- MET ML716 (Online): Sociology of Taste (Fall 2023)
- Race & Ethnicity in Africa
- SO320: Political Sociology (Fall 2024)
- Sociology
- Substance Use and Dependence
- Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences
- WR151: American Conversations: Jews and Blacks / Blacks and Jews
- WR151: Ethics of Immigration
- WR152: Anatomy of Identity
- WR152: Family Politics
- WR152: Holidays, Diasporas and U.S. Culture
- WR152: Sex in Space: Communities of Sexualities (Spring 2024)
Background Sources
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia offers concise, expert definitions and explanations of the key concepts in sociology, written by leading scholars in the field, including several faculty from Boston University. Content dating to 2015 is included. Entries range from short definitions of key terms to extended explorations of major topics in both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field.
- The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Sociology, 2nd. ed. The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Sociology, Second Edition is an authoritative survey of the major topics, current and emerging trends, and contemporary issues in the study of human social relationships and institutions.
- A Dictionary of Sociology. 2014. This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.
- The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
- The Palgrave Handbook of Ethnicity This publication provides a comprehensive and cutting edge analysis of ethnicity through diverse multi-disciplinary lenses. It explores numerous aspects of ethnicity and how it is linked to a range of contemporary political, economic and social issues at the global, regional as well as local levels.
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements This four-volume set examines every significant social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures.
- The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Social Movements The Companion seeks to present current research on social movements in all its diversity.The essays address: facilitative and constraining contexts and conditions; social movement organizations, fields, and dynamics; strategies and tactics; micro-structural and social psychological dimensions of participation; consequences and outcomes; the intersection of social movements and social class, gender, race and ethnicity, religion, human rights, globalization, political extremism and more.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories; much material was unpublished.
- Dictionary of the Social Sciences Oxford's unprecedented Dictionary of the Social Sciences is designed to break down the barriers between social science disciplines, as well as to make social scientific language comprehensible to general readers. Collecting anthropology, sociology, political science, economics, human geography, cultural studies, and Marxism in one volume, the Dictionary presents concise, clearly written definitions of more than 1,500 important terms.
Economic & Political Sociology
- International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology The International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology is the first encyclopedia in the field and a timely response to the surge of interest in economic sociology over the last 30 years. Economic Sociology deals with the multiple and complex relations between economy and society. In particular, it focuses on the impact of social, political and cultural factors on economic behaviour.
- The Handbook of Economic Sociology The Handbook of Economic Sociology, Second Edition is the definitive resource on what continues to be one of the leading edges of sociology and one of its most important interdisciplinary adventures.
- The Social Media Revolution: an Economic Encyclopedia of Friending, Following, Texting, and Connecting : The Social Media Revolution examines the tremendous influence of social media on how we make meaning of our place in the world. The book emphasizes the economic impacts of how we use the Internet and World Wide Web to exchange information, enabling readers to see how social media has taken root and challenged previous media industries, laws, policies, and social practices.
- The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Political Sociology The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Political Sociology is a complete reference guide, reflecting the scope and quality of the discipline, and highlighting emerging topics in the field. Global in focus, offering up-to-date topics from an interdisciplinary, international set of scholars addressing key issues concerning globalization, social movements, and citizenship The majority of chapters are new, including those on environmental politics, international terrorism, security, corruption, and human rights
Marriage, Gender, Children, Family, & the Life Course
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Families, Marriages, and Intimate Relationships Provides up-to-date information on such diverse topics as single-parent families, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, communication, and commuter marriages. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including sociology, psychology, anthropology, gender/women’s studies, and others.
- Handbook of the Sociology of Sexualities This volume provides researchers and scholars with a broad overview of the contributions of social psychologists and sociologists to the study of sexual relationships and sexual expression across the life course. These contributions include analyses of the dynamics of several types of contemporary sexual relationships – e.g., short-term, long-term non-exclusive, and committed.
- The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality is the foremost reference work on sexual behavior throughout the world at the beginning of a new millennium. Written by more than 200 leading sexologists in their respective countries and cultures, each lengthy entry explores such areas as heterosexual relationships, children, adolescents, adults, gender-conflicted persons, unconventional sexual patterns, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, sexual dysfunctions, and therapies.
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society The Encyclopedia of Gender and Society covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. This comprehensive encyclopedia is distinguished by a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
- Battleground : Women, Gender, and Sexuality Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality helps readers navigate contemporary issues and debates pertaining to women's lives in the United States and globally. This work examines how science and culture intertwine to influence how we think about our identities, desires, relationships, and societal roles today. It comprises lengthy, in-depth discussions of the most timely issues that are debated in today's culture, such as, birth control, comparable worth, disability and gender, glass ceiling, immigration, plastic surgery, tattooing, and piercing, same-sex marriage, and sexual assault and sexual harrassment.
- Men and Masculinities : a Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia Men & Masculinities, a pioneering two-volume work, corrects the oversight by summarizing the latest historical, biological, cross-cultural, psychological, and sociological research on the subject. It also looks at literature, art, and music from a gender perspective. The contributors are experts in their specialties and their work is directed, organized, and coedited by one of the premier scholars in the field, Michael Kimmel.
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Contains over three hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about issues related to marriage and family, focusing on the diversity of marriage and family lifestyles in fifty countries representative of the regions of the world.
- APA Handbook of Men and Masculinities In the past three decades, there has been an exponential growth in empirical psychological research on men and masculinities, although this emerging body of research has yet to be appropriately summarized, synthesized, and critically evaluated. This APA handbook addresses that lack with a strong focus on psychological science. It tackles the full spectrum of the theoretical, empirical, and practical, not only focusing on the extant literature in traditional areas of men and masculinities, but
- The Encyclopedia of Death and Dying The Encyclopedia of Death and Dying is a complete guide to death, how it is viewed, and the social and medical issues related to the process. More than 500 entries cover medicine, religion, ethics, psychology, and legal, social, and cultural topics. Extensive appendixes provide further information on preparing for and coping with death, as well as additional resources and references.
- The Wiley Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families Written by an international team of experts, this comprehensive volume investigates modern-day family relationships, partnering, and parenting set against a backdrop of rapid social, economic, cultural, and technological change.
- Encyclopedia of Adolescence The second edition of this encyclopedia continues to break new ground as an important resource for the study of adolescence. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the second edition – with entries presented in easy-to-access A to Z format – serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a frequently updated conduit of new research and knowledge .
- Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood : In History and Society This 3-vol. set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
Sociolinguistics
- The Oxford Handbook of Sociolinguistics The Oxford Handbook of Sociolinguistics will differ from existing work in four major respects. First, it will emphasize new methodological developments, particularly the convergence of linguistic anthropology and variationist sociolinguistics. Second, it will include chapters on sociolinguistic developments in areas of the world that have been relatively neglected in the major journals. Third, its chapters are written by contributors who have worked in a range of languages and whose work addresses sociolinguistic issues in bi- and multilingual contexts, i.e. the contexts in which a majority of the world's population lives. Finally, it will include substantial material on the rapidly growing study of sign language sociolinguistics.
- The Cambridge Handbook of Sociolinguistics The most comprehensive overview available, this Handbook is an essential guide to sociolinguistics today.
- The Routledge Handbook of Sociolinguistics around the World Drawing on examples from a wide range of languages and social setting, The Routledge Handbook of Sociolinguistics Around the World is the first single-volume collection surveying current and recent research trends in international sociolinguistics. With over 30 chapters written by leading authorities in the region concerned, all continents and their respective regions are covered.
- The Handbook of Historical Sociolinguistics Written by an international team of leading scholars, this groundbreaking reference work explores the nature of language change and diffusion, and paves the way for future research in this rapidly expanding interdisciplinary field.
- A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics The burgeoning field of sociolinguistics (the socially oriented study of language) is characterized by increasing heterogeneity and a proliferation of theories, concepts, and new terminology. This dictionary is designed to help a user navigate a way through the complex discipline. The entries are organized alphabetically and are explained with a minimum of academic jargon. The dictionary accommodates a broad interpretation of sociolinguistics, including macro- and micro-sociolinguistics and a range of approaches within variationist, interactional, critical, and applied traditions.
Medical Sociology
- The New Blackwell Companion to Medical Sociology An authoritative, topical, and comprehensive reference to the key concepts and most important traditional and contemporary issues in medical sociology. Contains 35 chapters by recognized experts in the field, both established and rising young scholars.
- Handbook of Medical Sociology Composed entirely of specially commissioned chapters by some of the outstanding scholars in medical sociology, this edition reflects important changes in the study of health and illness.
- Handbook of the Sociology of Mental Health Now in this updated second edition, the comprehensive handbook of mental health sociology features theory-driven reviews of recent research with an inclusive approach to investigating the myriad ways in which society shapes the mental health of its members.
- Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness : an A-to-Z Guide Cultural Sociology of Mental Illness: An A to Z Guide looks at recent reports that suggest an astonishing rise in mental illness and considers such questions as: Are there truly more mentally ill people now or are there just more people being diagnosed and treated? What are the roles of economics and the pharmacological industry in this controversy?
Sociology of Religion
- Encyclopedia of Religion and Society The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society marks a unique venture in that it attempts to bring together in a single-volume compendium a state-of-the-art summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology. To do so is to take, admittedly, a "one-sided" approach to the religion-and-society nexus. One could perhaps consider an alternative posture, more ethical in nature-namely, one that considers what religions think about society. This would really be an encyclopedia of religious social ethics, and it is not within the scope of this project.
- The Blackwell Companion to Sociology of Religion This Companion, edited by one of the best known and most widely respected sociologists of religion, provides essential reading for sociologists and religion scholars. The Blackwell Companion to Sociology of Religion is presented in three comprehensive parts. Written by a range of outstanding academics, the volume explores the current status of the sociology of religion, and how it might look in future.
- The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion draws on the expertise of an international team of scholars providing both an entry point into the sociological study and understanding of religion and an in-depth survey into its changing forms and content in the contemporary world.
Criminology
- Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory This two-volume set is designed to serve as a reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary criminological theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. The work provides essays on cutting-edge research as well as concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
- Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice is an international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice that is both cutting edge as well as of very high scientific quality and prestige.
Background Sources on Sociologists
- Women Founders of the Social Sciences Ground-breaking and original, this book debunks the myth that empirical social science has been dominated by its male founders and methodologists. The author re-analyses the critical role British, French and American women played in creating the field from the 16th through the early 20th centuries. Included are Mary Astell, Mary Wollstonecraft, Harriet Martineau, Beatrice Webb, Catharine Macauley, Florence Nightingale, Madame de Staël and Jane Addams.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window Biographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Select Sociologists in the complete list of Occupations; a search for Sociologists yields more than 80 individuals.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Choose Occupation, Select Scholarship and Research, Social Science, Sociologist sand Social Theorists to search for Sociologists.
