Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Location: Mugar Reference Z253 .U69 2017
Music Library Open reserve Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017Also available, the Chicago Manual of Style Online is a searchable guide for the Chicago style of citation, editorial, and publishing practices. It includes 16th and 17th editions plus Q&A content, sample forms, letters, and style sheets, and other tools.
MLA (Modern Language Association) Style
MLA Handbook by Location: Mugar Reference LB2369 G5Publication Date: 2016Note: access to the companion material at http://www.mlahandbook.org/ is available to individuals who have purchased the Handbook, but not to institutions.
MLA style is widely used by universities, academic presses, and in the humanities subject areas. The association makes some information available through the style section on its site at https://style.mla.org/. Be sure to look through the list of Frequently Asked Questions on their site to get the most pertinent example citations. The 8th edition is the most recent, published in 2016.
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Manual
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Location: Mugar Reference BF76.7 P83 (Temporary online access available through HathiTrust)
Sci/Eng Reference BF76.7 P83
Education Reference BF76.7 P83
Pardee Reference BF76.7 P83
Sci/Eng Reference BF76.7 P83
Education Reference BF76.7 P83
Pardee Reference BF76.7 P83
The official style manual for the APA. The website at http://www.apastyle.org/ offers extensive information. The 7th edition is the most recent, published in 2019.
General Citation Guides
- Citing Sources Within Your Paper (Duke University) Duke University is responsible for this well-organized site about citing in the body of your text.
- Sources and Citation (Dartmouth College) This great resource from Dartmouth College is clear and easy-to-use.
- Documentation Styles (Simmons College) Simmons College has produced this guide that includes MLA, APA, AMA, ASA, CSE, and Chicago styles.
- Citation Guide (Harvard Business School) This excellent guide in .PDF from the Harvard Business School covers citation within text as well as how to do a bibliography using Chicago style.
- Citation Machine A site designed to help create bibliographies easily, this was developed by David Warlick & The Landmark Project.
- EasyBib.com This company has partnered with WorldCat, and can format, alphabetize and print a bibliography based on APA, MLA, or Chicago styles.
Cite Right by Location: Mugar Reference PN171.F56 L55 2006In addition to the four styles listed on this page, this work also includes style samples for ACS (for chemistry), Bluebook and ALWD (for legal), and others.
Electronic Styles by Location: Mugar Reference PN171 F56 L5
Sci/Eng Reference PN171 F56 L5
Education Reference PN171 F56 L5
Pardee ReferencePN171 F56 L5This print source contains excellent examples of citing electronic information in both APA and MLA styles.
The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law by Location: Mugar Reference PN4783 A83This work recommended by the Associated Press is in its 43rd edition.
