Related Guides
Search Databases
Anthropology
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window Anthropology Plus provides worldwide coverage of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary fields. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window AnthroSource is an electronic archive of American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters and bulletins. It also provides seamless access to AAA journals archived in JSTOR. Date coverage: late 19th century - present.
- Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window Anthropology Online brings together written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior. It is a resource for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.
- Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window This database contains indexes journal articles and books in the social sciences. Subjects covered in the database include anthropology, economics, education, ethnography, political science, sociology and more. It has broad international coverage. Abstracts are available for half of all current journal articles. Date coverage: 1951 - present.
Humanities
- Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, provides comprehensive data on bibliographic and citation information. This database allows a researcher to identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches notable and significant journals across more than 25 disciplines. Date coverage: 1975 - present.
- Humanities Full Text / Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window These combined databases provide access to journal articles, book reviews, performance reviews, interviews, bibliographies and more from a broad range of humanities and social sciences journals. Date coverage: 1907 - present.
Folk Songs & Music
- Music & Performing Arts (Audio & Video Collections) This link opens in a new window Music & Performing Arts' collections stream American Song, Classical, Contemporary World, Jazz, Popular, and Smithsonian's Global Sound. Search results include lnks to the full text of the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online (1997-2001), with additional audio examples.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Music Database features citations and selected full text of many (though by no means all) music periodicals. The database includes a number of music trade journals and magazines as well as referred scholarly music journals. Also includes a small selection of eBooks. Date coverage: generally 1990s - present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Use the RILM database to identify both in-depth and interdisciplinary writing about music. Conference reports, journal articles, festschriften, book chapters, recordings, critical editions, and reviews, are indexed and described in detail. RILM’s coverage is comprehensive for the current half-century and, increasingly, is expanding back well into the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Folk Song Subject & Master Index Indexes the details of 25,000 English-language traditional songs in books, journals, newspapers, manuscript collections, sound recordings, videos, websites, and more. Also indexes songs that appeared in broadsides and other cheap print publications up to about 1920, and includes music hall songs and songs performed on radio before World War II.
- The Traditional Ballad Index The Traditional Ballad Index is a collaborative effort designed to help people find reference information on folk ballads. This page is designed to let you find ballads by entering titles or keywords. The database offers a variety of information about each song, including a brief description, a bibliography, and historical background. Alternate titles are given. Most songs also have a list of keywords to help you search.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window Locate citations and selected abstracts for articles and reviews of books, dissertations, recordings, and scores, that are featured in music periodicals. All music-related disciplines are covered. Date coverage: 1970 - present.For 1948 through 1969 citations, use the Music Index in print annual volumes at the Music Library's Table 7.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window Originally a 10-volume encyclopedia (1997) organized by world music geographical regions , the Garland online is accompanied by audio examples. Choose to search it separately or combined with other collections within the Music & Performing Arts database.
Searching Across Disciplines
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Date coverage varies by publication
- BU Libraries Search (BULS) This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
Featured Journals
- Folklore Folklore is one of the earliest journals in the field of folkloristics, first published as The Folk-Lore Record in 1878. Folklore publishes ethnographical and analytical essays on vernacular culture worldwide, specialising in traditional narrative, language, music, song, dance, drama, foodways, medicine, arts and crafts, and popular religion and belief. It reviews current scholarship in a wide range of adjacent disciplines including anthropology, cultural studies, ethnology, history, literature, and religion.
- Journal of American Folklore The Journal of American Folklore is the official journal of the American Folklore Society and presents recent scholarship by AFS members and scholars in allied fields. AFS, founded in 1889, is an organization of folklorists with over l, 000 members in the US, Canada, and other countries throughout the world. The journal regularly publishes book, film, and exhibit reviews as well as articles on expressive culture and how groups make meaning through interactive activities.
- Western Folklore Western Folklore (ISSN 0043-373X), the journal of the Western States Folklore Society (formerly California Folklore Society), is published quarterly in winter, spring, summer, and fall. Founded in 1942, it has become the leading American journal devoted to the description and analysis of regional, national, and international folklore and custom. Subscribers include professional and amateur folklorists, anthropologists, sociologists, historians, as well as libraries, historical societies, and folk art museums.
- Voices: The Journal of New York Folklore Voices: The Journal of New York Folklore features articles, stories, interviews, reminiscences, essays, folk poetry and music, photographs and artwork from people in all parts of New York State. Voices is the Society’s membership magazine. The magazine also publishes peer-reviewed, research-based articles, written in an accessible style, on topics related to traditional art and life, including ethnic culture
- Asian Ethnology Asian Ethnology is dedicated to the promotion of scholarly research on the peoples and cultures of Asia. It began in China as Folklore Studies in 1942 and later moved to Japan where its name was changed to Asian Folklore Studies. It is edited and published at Nanzan University in Nagoya, Japan, with the cooperation of Boston University.
- Oral Tradition OT was founded in 1986 to serve as an international and interdisciplinary forum for discussion of worldwide oral traditions and related forms.
- Marvels & Tales: Journal of Fairy-Tale Studies Marvels & Tales is a peer-reviewed journal that is international and multidisciplinary in orientation. The journal publishes scholarly work dealing with the fairy tale in any of its diverse manifestations and contexts. Marvels & Tales provides a central forum for fairy-tale studies by scholars of literature, folklore, gender studies, children’s literature, social and cultural history, anthropology, film studies, ethnic studies, art and music history, and others.
