Journal Databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window PsycArticles provides full text access to articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, The Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Subject areas include general psychology as well as specialized areas such as animal behavior, cognition, memory, psycholinguistics, and social psychology.
- Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window ASSIA indexes and abstracts articles on health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Sources are from 16 countries, including the UK and US.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This database includes the full text of articles from more than 500 journals. It covers a broad range of topics related to psychology and the behavioral sciences including observational and experimental methods, child and adolescent psychology, and many areas of counseling.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Full Text provides access to hundreds of English language journals in the social sciences. About two-thirds of the journals are peer-reviewed.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window This database includes books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations and theses, and technical reports related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Comprehensive coverage of abstracts to the biomedical literature. Includes medicine, the allied health disciplines, and biomedical literature. Materials range from 1809 Onwards, with more recent decades better represented.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Forty percent of the content is published outside of North America.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
Using the Find @ BU Button
In many of our databases you will sometimes see a Find @ BU button that appears with some article search results. That means the full article is not available in the database, but we may have access to it anyway. This video shows you how that works.
