BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of academic material provided by the library. The material covered by the search includes books, journals, scores, video and audio recordings, and other physical items held by the library. The search also covers ebooks and ejournals owned by the library, as well as online material provided by the library from a variety of sources.
This digital textbook offers an accessible introduction to first, second, and bilingual language acquisition, focusing on sign languages as the primary frame of reference. Signed entirely in American Sign Language with accompanying slides and an optional English voice-over, this digital text provides an innovative approach to conveying the visual, moving elements intrinsic to sign language, maintaining accessibility to both ASL-dominant and English-dominant readers. Unlike most texts that rely on spoken language examples to illustrate the process of language development, Sign Language Acquisition by Deaf and Hearing Children draws from a rich body of sign language research to guide the user through the major developmental milestones for language acquisition. The textbook examines universal properties of first language acquisition, the wide variation in language input experienced by deaf children, and the impact of such variation on language development. Sign language development in other contexts, focusing on late-exposed signers, child and adult bilingual signers, hearing L2 signers, and atypical signers with cognitive disorders or Specific Language Impairments, is addressed, as well. Critical terms and concepts are highlighted on slides that accompany each video chapter, indicating their inclusion in a 200+ item bilingual glossary, which is accessible from any point in the video text. Conveniently packaged on a USB flash drive, the text also includes printable PDF versions of the chapter slides and a complete reference list. Sign Language Acquisition by Deaf and Hearing Children is an excellent resource for language acquisition courses and early intervention training, as well as for parents of deaf and hearing signing children. A Brazilian edition of the text in Libras with spoken Brazilian Portuguese voice-over will be available from Editora da Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina.
Although a number of edited collections deal with either the languages of the world or the languages of particular regions or genetic families, only a few cover sign languages or even include a substantial amount of information on them. This handbook provides information on some 38 sign languages, including basic facts about each of the languages, structural aspects, history and culture of the Deaf communities, and history of research. This information will be of interest not just to general audiences, including those who are deaf, but also to linguists and students of linguistics. By providing information on sign languages in a manner accessible to a less specialist audience, this volume fills an important gap in the literature.
This groundbreaking volume introduces readers to the key concepts and debates in deaf studies, offering perspectives on the relevance and richness of deaf ways of being in the world. In Open Your Eyes, leading and emerging scholars, the majority of whom are deaf, consider physical and cultural boundaries of deaf places and probe the complex intersections of deaf identities with gender, sexuality, disability, family, and race. Together, they explore the role of sensory perception in constructing community, redefine literacy in light of signed languages, and delve into the profound medical, social, and political dimensions of the disability label often assigned to deafness. Moving beyond proving the existence of deaf culture, Open Your Eyes shows how the culture contributes vital insights on issues of identity, language, and power, and, ultimately, challenges our cultureOCOs obsession with normalcy."
How children acquire a sign language and the stages of sign language development are extremely important topics in sign linguistics and deaf education, with studies in this field enabling assessment of an individual child's communicative skills in comparison to others. In order to do research in this area it is important to use the right methodological tools. The contributions to this volume address issues covering the basics of doing sign acquisition research, the use of assessment tools, problems of transcription, analyzing narratives and carrying out interaction studies. It serves as an ideal reference source for any researcher or student of sign languages who is planning to do such work. This volume was originally published as a Special Issue of Sign Language & Linguistics 8:1/2 (2005)
In this probing exploration of what it means to be deaf, Brenda Brueggemann goes beyond any simple notion of identity politics to explore the very nature of identity itself. Looking at a variety of cultural texts, she brings her fascination with borders and between-places to expose and enrich our understanding of how deafness embodies itself in the world, in the visual, and in language. Taking on the creation of the modern deaf subject, Brueggemann ranges from the intersections of gender and deafness in the work of photographers Mary and Frances Allen at the turn of the last century, to the state of the field of Deaf Studies at the beginning of our new century. She explores the power and potential of American Sign Language--wedged, as she sees it, between letter-bound language and visual ways of learning--and argues for a rhetorical approach and digital future for ASL literature. The narration of deaf lives through writing becomes a pivot around which to imagine how digital media and documentary can be used to convey deaf life stories. Finally, she expands our notion of diversity within the deaf identity itself, takes on the complex relationship between deaf and hearing people, and offers compelling illustrations of the intertwined, and sometimes knotted, nature of individual and collective identities within Deaf culture.
Our interlibrary loan service allows current BU faculty, staff, and students to request materials we don't have. Books generally take 1-3 weeks to arrive; articles are generally delivered electronically within 1-2 days.