Skip to Main Content
Data, Statistics & Public Opinion Sources
Global Abortion Incidence Dataset (Guttmacher Institute)
The Global Abortion Incidence Dataset is a comprehensive dataset of abortion data from 1990 to 2018, which provides the first global compilation of national level abortion data and information on data sources and quality.
#WeCount Report (Society of Family Planning)
#WeCount is a national abortion reporting effort that aims to capture the shifts in
abortion access by state following the June 24, 2022 Dobbs v Jackson’s Women’s
Health Organization Supreme Court decision.
Myers Abortion Facility Database
Public data include a county-by-month panel of travel distances to the nearest U.S. abortion provider from January 2009 through June 2021. Researchers can apply for restricted data identifying abortion facilities.
Pregnancies, Births and Abortions in the United States: National and State Trends by Age (Guttmacher Institute)
A data set of comprehensive historical statistics on the incidence of pregnancy, birth and abortion for people of all reproductive ages in the United States. National statistics cover the period from 1973 to 2017, the most recent year for which comparable data are available; state-level statistics are for selected years from 1988 to 2017.
Alan Guttmacher Institute Data Center.
Build, download and share custom tables, graphs and maps utilizing data on key sexual and reproductive health indicators from the Guttmacher Institute and other trusted sources.
CDC 's Reproductive Health Information Source: Surveillance and Research: Abortion.
Public health surveillance is the ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in public health practice.
Public Opinion on Abortion (Pew Research Center)
While public support for legal abortion has fluctuated some in two decades of polling, it has remained relatively stable over the past several years. Currently, 61% say abortion should be legal in all or most cases, while 37% say it should be illegal in all or most cases.
Majority of Public Disapproves of Supreme Court’s Decision To Overturn Roe v. Wade (Pew Research Center)
A majority of Americans disapprove of the U.S. Supreme Court’s landmark ruling overturning the Roe v. Wade decision, which had guaranteed a constitutional right to an abortion for nearly 50 years. Public support for legal abortion remains largely unchanged since before the decision, with 62% saying it should be legal in all or most cases.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets. Date coverage: 1930s – present.
Health Poll Database (Roper Center)
Heatth Poll Database is an open resource offering researchers at every level unprecedented access to questions and results from over 80 years of U.S. national polls on health-related topics. This new resource promotes an understanding of public opinion on a broad range of health issues.
American Values Atlas
The American Values Atlas (AVA) is a dynamic interactive online map of the United States’ cultural landscape. The AVA draws upon data from more than 100,000 bilingual telephone interviews conducted among a random sample of Americans, with 40,000 interviews each year on political and cultural issue areas
Global Abortion Policies Database (WHO)
Designed to strengthen global efforts to eliminate unsafe abortion by producing an interactive open-access database and repository of current abortion laws, policies, and national standards and guidelines.
World Abortion Laws Map (Center for Reproductive Rights)
Groups countries into five categories of restrictiveness, and also indicates the types of laws in effect.
Lay of the Land: Abortion Policies and Access in the United States (Guttmacher Institute)
The abortion landscape is fragmented and increasingly polarized. Many states have abortion restrictions or bans in place that make it difficult, if not impossible, for people to get care. Other states have taken steps to protect abortion rights and access. To help people understand this complex landscape, our interactive map groups states into one of seven categories based on abortion policies they currently have in effect.
