Related Guides
Find Films & Podcasts
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. It includes documentaries, films, demonstrations, and other content types.
- Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I-II: Foundational Films This link opens in a new window Contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent, providing teachers visual support to introduce and contextualize hundreds of cultural groups and practices around the world.
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
Podcasts
- Myths and Legends Ever wonder about the original stories behind King Arthur and his legendary knights, Robin Hood, or Aladdin? Did you know that fairy tales weren't originally for children and are way more bizarre, ridiculous, and interesting than you ever thought possible?
- Mythunderstood: A Greek (& other) Mythology Podcast Paul Bianchi sits down with his best friend and comedic writing partner Sarah Oliver to teach her everything he knows about the bizarre, and sometimes hilarious tales of Greek Mythology. New Episodes released every other Wednesday.
Featured Films
- Crash Course Literature 1: What is Myth? (streaming, Academic Video Online) elcome to Crash Course World Mythology, our latest adventure (and this series may be literally adventurous) in education. Over the next 40 episodes or so, we and Mike Rugnetta are going to learn about the world by looking at the foundational stories of a bunch of different cultural traditions. We're going to look at the ways that people's stories define them, and the ways they shape their culture. We're going to learn about gods, goddesses, heroes, and tricksters, and a lot more. We're going to walk the blurry line between myth and religion, and we're going to like it.
- Crash course literature 12: Theories of myth (streaming, Academic Video Online) This week, we're talking about theories of Myth. We'll look at the different ways mythology has been studied in the last couple of millennia, and talk about the different ways people have interpreted myth, academically in fields like Anthropology and Psychology.
- Fishermen of the full moon (Madagascar) (streaming, Academic Video Online) Today exists ethnic minorities whose daily lives continue to bear witness to contemporary myths: these legends are their faith, and the animals, their gods. From the Indonesian horsemen of Sumba Island to the wild elephant tamers of the Vietnamese forest, this collection reveals the most wondrous of beliefs which unite man and animal in the spectacular, thousand-year old fulfillment of a magical destiny.
- Mythology: Gods & Goddesses (streaming, Academic Video Online) For students who are not already familiar with the classical myths, this program provides an informative and memorable introduction, lavishly illustrated with photographs, reproductions and original art.
- Aboriginal stories from Western Australia (streaming, Academic Video Online) This video features Aboriginal Stories from Western Australia.
- The Five Suns: A Sacred History of Mexico The Five Suns" employs authentic pre-Columbian Aztec iconography to depict the most important creation myths and sacred stories of the Aztecs and other Nahuatl-speaking peoples of ancient central Mexico.
- Holo Mai Pele: The Epic Hula Myth (streaming, Academic Video Online) Holo Mai Pele (Pele Travels) tells the epic saga of the rivalry between Pelehonuamea, goddess of the volcano, and her youngest and favorite sister Hi'iaka.
- Jason and the Argonauts: The Journey from Boy to Man (streaming, Academic Video Online) Greek mythology has intrigued audiences for 2,000 years. Now we can enjoy the stories of The Odyssey (by Homer) and Jason and the Argonauts, re-told for modern audiences with the help of dramatisations and CGI.
- The Odyssey: The Journey Home from Troy (streaming, Academic Video Online) Greek mythology has intrigued audiences for 2,000 years. Now we can enjoy the stories of The Odyssey (Homer) and Jason and the Argonauts, re-told for modern audiences with the help of dramatisations and CGI.
- A Long and Difficult Journey, or The Odyssey) streaming, Academic Video Online) n which John Green teaches you about Homer's Odyssey. If it was Homer's If Homer was even real. Anyway, that stuff doesn't really matter. John teaches you the classic, by which I mean classical, epic poem, the Odyssey. The Journey of Odysseus as he made his way home after the conclusion of the Trojan War is the stuff of legend.
- Theories of Myth (streaming, Academic Video Online) This week, we're talking about theories of Myth. We'll look at the different ways mythology has been studied in the last couple of millennia, and talk about the different ways people have interpreted myth, academically in fields like Anthropology and Psychology.
- Master of the Spirits (series) (streaming, Academic Video Online) For its 13 extraordinary and true stories, the series entitled 'The Master of the Spirits' has sought out civilizations who still believe in magic, and whose people continue to share remarkable experiences with animals, hoping to win the favor of the spirits.
- Popol Vuh: The Creation Myth of the Maya (streaming, Academic Video Online) This much-honored animated film employs authentic imagery from ancient Maya ceramics to create a riveting depiction of the Popol Vuh, the Maya creation myth. Similar to the Biblical story of Genesis in its breadth, scope, and themes, the Popol Vuh is the origin of many myths and beliefs that spread throughout North America and formed the foundation of most Native American religious, philosophical, and ethical beliefs.
- Mythology is Alive and Well (streaming, Academic Video Online) Mythology Is Alive And Well is a two-part program which introduces, in a lighthearted way, the major figures of the Greek and Roman pantheon. The program sorts them out and clearly shows their relationships to one another and also what they meant to the men and women who created and worshiped them.
- In search of myths & heroes. Jason & the Golden Fleece (streaming, Academic Video Online) his program explores one of the oldest stories in all of Greek mythology. Michael Wood traces the route of Jason and his famous boat, the Argo, from Greece to Turkey and modern-day Georgia. It begins in the town of Volos in Greece-where King Pelias feared Jason a contender to this throne and sent him on the impossible mission to the kingdom of Colchis on the Black Sea to retrieve the magical Golden Fleece.
- In search of myths & heroes. The queen of Sheba (streaming, Academic Video Online) This program marks the beginning of Michael Wood's quest as he ventures into the world of an exotic and mysterious woman of power. Immortalized in the Hebrew Bible, the Muslim Koran, and in many Christian traditions, the tale of the Queen's journey to meet King Solomon has been told and retold for nearly 3,000 years. He discovers the legend has been told with variant detail: in Africa, she is black-and a woman of power; in Arabia, she's half-woman, half-demon.
- Prometheus bound (streaming, Academic Video Online) A talented cast brings this Greek masterpiece to the stage with song, dance and an innovative set which allows the immortal story about resisting tyranny to come alive.
- Medea (streaming, Academic Video Online) The "Olivia Sutherland Medea" is directed by James Thomas and brings to stage Peter Arnott's line-by-line translation of the Euripides masterpiece. The effect - is the rarely-experienced complexity and poetic impact of the original text. It includes the romantic scenes with Aegis, all the poetic choral odes, and the triumphant ending.
