Skip to main content

Human Relations Area Files (HRAF)

Africa

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
FA8 Bambara 1900-1950 4 1,127
FA16 Dogon 1925-1970 23 4,645
FA28 Mossi 1900-1955 12 942
FC7 Mende 1910-1950 8 605
FD6 Kpelle 1910-1975 30 3,700
FE11 Tallensi 1920-1950 10 954
FE12 Twi 1895-1950 27 3,523
FF26 Igbo 1900-1970 36 8,488
FF38 Katab 1920-1950 4 252
FF52 Nupe 1910-1950 9 858
FF57 Tiv 1910-1960 30 2,891
FF62 Yoruba 1900-1950 45 1,637
FH9 Fang 1900-1950 8 1,117
FJ22 Nuer 1925-1950 16 1,541
FJ23 Shilluk 1900-1950 29 1,073
FK7 Ganda 1900-1960 16 2,261
FL6 Dorobo 1900-1950 14 354
FL10 Kikuyu 1900-1950 9 1,950
FL11 Luo 1900-1950 21 463
FL12 Masai 1880-1960 19 2,095
FL17 Turkana 1900-1980 23 4,128
FL19 Nairobi 1945-1975 46 4,115
FN4 Chagga 1890-1950 6 1,986
FN17 Ngonde 1920-1950 14 1,474
FO4 Pygmies 1930-1960 4 1,285
FO7 Azande 1860-1950 68 3,264
FO32 Mongo 1910-1950 9 773
FO42 Rundi 1910-1955 10 1,314
FP13 Mbundu 1895-1955 6 847
FQ5 Bemba 1925-1940 10 830
FQ6 Ila 1910-1940 6 998
FQ9 Lozi 1920-1960 10 1,635
FQ12 Tonga 1950-1970 11 1,616
FR5 Ngoni 1900-1950 14 1,123
FS5 Shona 1600-1980 23 5,698
FT6 Thonga 1920-1954 3 1,231
FT7 Yao 1900-1950 11 555
FX10 San 1900-1980 44 6,786
FX13 Hottentot 1900-1920 14 1,359
FX14 Lovedu 1930-1950 5 455
FX20 Zulu 1850-1970 45 8,067
FY8 Tanala 1925 1 334

Asia

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
AA1 Korea 1850-1950 58 6,148
AB6 Ainu 1870-1960 11 1,573
AB43 Okayama 0500-1969 30 3,532
AC7 Okinawa 1945-1955 3 817
AD1 Formosa 1850-1950 40 1,836
AD4 Formosan Aborigines 1880-1950 -- --
AD5 Tawain Hokkien 1950-1975 71 8,655
AE3 Sino-Tibetan Border 1920-1940 7 529
AE4 Lolo 1910-1940 5 564
AE5 Miao 1900-1940 12 1,282
AE9 Monguor 1920-1940 5 1,221
AF1 China 1900-1950 80 19,442
AF12 North China 1920-1950 8 2,595
AF13 Northwest China 1910-1950 3 1,299
AF14 Central China 1920-1950 2 1,130
AF15 East China 1920-1950 3 1,384
AF16 Southwest China 1900-1950 7 2,800
AF17 South China 1900-1950 8 1,846
AG1 Manchuria 1900-1950 7 1,820
AH1 Mongolia 1920-1950 9 1,358
AH6 Inner Mongolia 1900-1950 13 1,840
AH7 Outer Mongolia 1900-1950 4 2,821
AI1 Sinkiang 1920-1950 3 860
AJ1 Tibet 1880-1950 26 6,313
AJ4 West Tibetans 1850-1950 22 1,905
AK5 Lepcha 1930-1950 11 1,038
AK6 Sherpa 1953-1988 13 2,968
AL1 Southeast Asia 1850-1950 22 3,851
AM1 Indochina 1850-1950 153 19,633
AM4 Cambodia 1850-1950 -- --
AM8 Laos 1850-1950 -- --
AM11 Vietnam 1850-1950 -- --
AN1 Malaya 1880-1950 193 10,142
AN5 Malays 1880-1950 -- --
AN6 Senoi 1950-1980 25 4,640
AN7 Semang 1920-1940 3 786
AO1 Thailand 1890-1950 40 6,114
AO7 Central Thai 1910-1978 54 11,086
AP1 Burma 1850-1950 31 4,680
AP4 Burmese 1850-1950 -- --
AP6 Kachin 1900-1950 -- --
AP7 Karen 1900-1950 -- --
AR5 Garo 1870-1960 9 1,169
AR7 Khasi 1870-1960 21 998
AU1 Afghanistan 1870-1950 74 6,234
AU4 Pashtun 1860-1975 20 2,188
AV1 Kashmir 1870-1950 6 2,006
AV3 Dard 1865-1920 4 711
AV4 Kashmiri 1890-1950 5 893
AV7 Burusho 1930-1960 8 2,157
AW1 India 1850-1950 41 14,980
AW2 Bihar 1880 1 619
AW5 Coorg 1870-1950 4 802
AW6 East Panjab 1920-1950 3 1,106
AW7 Gujarati 1920-1945 4 627
AW11 Kerala 1900-1950 13 989
AW16 Tamil 1950-1970 41 8,974
AW17 Telugu 1950 1 265
AW19 Uttar Pradesh 1920-1950 4 255
AW25 Bhil 1935-1950 7 1,069
AW32 Gond 1935-1950 4 1,552
AW37 Kol 1940 1 347
AW42 Santal 1935-1960 5 1,318
AW50 Badaga 1800-1960 9 1,129
AW60 Toda 1870-1935 13 1,553
AW66 Calcutta 1950-1970 64 5,811
AW69 Bengali 1500-1985 22 3,472
AX4 Sinhalese 1950-1970 8 1,984
AX5 Vedda 1860-1940 5 776
AZ2 Andamans 1900-1960 11 1,229

Europe

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
E1 Europe 1945-1950 9 1,599
E16 Slavic Peoples 1000-1950 7 903
EA1 Poland 1920-1950 31 3,940
EB1 Czechoslovakia 1920-1950 75 6,491
EC1 Hungary 1900-1950 16 1,401
ED1 Rumania 1920-1950 9 1,245
EE1 Bulgaria 1900-1950 7 998
EF1 Yugoslavia 1900-1950 13 2,765
EF6 Serbs 1900-1960 19 3,450
EG1 Albania 1880-1950 9 1,975
EH1 Greece 1935-1960 10 1,153
EH14 Sarakatsani 1955-1965 3 942
EI9 Imperial Romans 0001-0100 18 5,739
EK1 Austria 1920-1950 6 1,334
EO1 Finland 1900-1950 1 402
EP4 Lapps 1700-1960 16 3,284
ER6 Rural Irish 1890-1960 17 1,673
ES3 Georgian Britain 1714-1815 15 7,090
ES10 Highland Scots 1940-1980 24 4,071
ES13 Stuart Britain 1603-1714 24 5,839
ES14 Tudor Britain 1485-1603 10 3,459
EX8 Basques 1850-1983 18 5,800
EZ6 Malta 1910-1960 9 1,069

Middle East

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
M1 Middle East 1850-1950 72 13,908
MA1 Iran 1850-1950 72 7,000
MA11 Kurd 1890-1950 11 1,018
MB1 Turkey 1920-1960 14 1,493
MD1 Syria 1920-1950 11 1,395
MD4 Rwala 1910-1940 2 1,042
ME1 Lebanon 1835-1952 11 657
MG1 Jordan 1890-1952 22 3,358
MH1 Iraq 1900-1950 8 1,825
MI1 Kuwait 1930-1950 7 877
MJ1 Saudi Arabia 1900-1950 30 3,371
MJ4 Bedouin 1900-1950 -- --
MK2 Maritime Arabs 1930-1950 4 103
MK4 Trucial Oman 1930-1950 3 256
ML1 Yemen 1920-1956 14 446
MM1 Aden 1930-1952 8 683
MM2 Hadhramaut 1910-1950 23 765
MO4 Somali 1850-1965 31 2,194
MP5 Amhara 1770-1965 12 1,664
MR13 dFellahin 1870-1950 9 1,262
MR14 Siwans 1900-1930 7 518
MS12 Hausa 1800-1970 18 2,118
MS14 Kanuri 1950-1960 4 902
MS22 Teda 1870-1975 10 1,620
MS25 Tuareg 1900-1960 8 1,225
MS30 Wolof 1750-1965 46 2,026
MS37 Senegal 1900-1953 23 849
MT9 Libyan Bedouin 1920-1965 9 938
MW11 Shluh 1920-1950 4 1,321
MX3 Rif 1920-1960 7 1,076
MZ2 Bahrain 0750-1950 8 428

North America

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
N7 Chicano 1940-1980 34 7,371
N8 Gypsies-Rom 1940-1980 25 2,705
N9 North American Hmong 1976-1989 29 4,573
N10 Italian Americans 1850-1990 46 7,027
NA6 Aleut 1820-1960 70 2,253
NA10 South Alaska Eskimo 1780-1964 28 2,313
NA12 Tlingit 1890-1980 30 6,599
ND7 Chipewyan 1770-1976 21 2,879
ND8 Copper Eskimo 1900-1950 29 2,277
ND9 Hare 1900-1970 17 2,024
ND12 Nahane 1900-1950 7 758
NE6 Bellacoola 1890-1940 8 1,561
NE11 Nootka 1780-1950 19 1,547
NF6 Blackfoot 1835-1970 58 7,520
NG6 Ojibwa 1860-1950 26 4,354
NH6 Montagnais 1860-1960 35 2,388
NJ5 Micmac 1630-1950 8 1,016
NK4 American Blacks 1800-1985 37 10,057
NK5 Puerto Ricans-Mainland 1900-1990 36 4,842
NM6 Amish 1850-1980 19 6,049
NM7 Delaware 1650-1950 15 1,733
NM9 Iroquois 1650-1950 41 3,115
NN5 Mountain Whites 1900-1975 28 6,852
NN8 Cherokee 1850-1980 34 7,209
NN11 Creek 1750-1930 3 757
NN16 Seminole 1835-1980 35 5,169
NN23 Sea Islanders 1800-1988 11 2,502
NO6 Comanche 1786-1960 36 1,604
NP5 Fox 1830-1967 89 5,000
NP12 Winnebago 1860-1950 10 915
NQ6 Arapaho 1890-1960 29 2,639
NQ10 Crow 1860-1940 24 1,479
NQ12 Dhegiha 1820-1930 33 1,968
NQ13 Gros Ventre 1900-1940 8 1,085
NQ17 Mandan 1835-1950 10 1,297
NQ18 Pawnee 1850-1960 14 1,703
NR4 Plateau Indians 1880-1930 4 303
NR10 Klamath 1880-1960 9 1,617
NR13 Northern Paiute 1920-1950 15 910
NR19 Southeast Salish 1900-1930 7 945
NS18 Pomo 1870-1940 22 1,220
NS22 Tubatulabal 1910-1935 4 180
NS29 Yokuts 1820-1950 16 975
NS31 Yurok 1800-1940 13 1,101
NT8 Eastern Apache 1930-1940 4 589
NT9 Hopi 1800-1980 48 9,047
NT13 Navaho 1870-1980 232 22,058
NT14 Plateau Yumans 1880-1960 14 927
NT15 River Yumans 1850-1930 6 561
NT16 Southern Paiute 1870-1975 58 4,291
NT17 Taos 1680-1970 66 2,685
NT18 Tewa 1900-1950 15 1,274
NT19 Ute 1850-1970 47 5,454
NT20 Washo 1910-1960 9 521
NT21 Western Apache 1845-1975 53 6,114
NT22 Western Shoshone 1900-1970 26 1,884
NT23 Zuni 1880-1960 16 2,842
NT24 Mormons 1830-1970 69 9,776
NT25 Mescalero 1650-1975 45 3,089
NT26 Jicarilla 1540-1970 50 4,091
NT28 Mohave 1850-1970 63 3,544
NU7 Aztec 1520-1600 35 6,067
NU28 Papago 1920-1960 19 2,183
NU31 Seri 1880-1955 12 616
NU33 Tarahumara 1890-1960 13 2,055
NU34 Tarasco 1890-1960 11 655
NU37 Tepoztlan 1920-1950 5 859
NU44 Zapotec 1550-1970 29 5,098
NU54 Mexico, D.F. 1900-1975 23 5,423
NV9 Tzeltal 1920-1970 9 1,127
NV10 Yucatec Maya 1910-1940 11 1,870
NW8 Mam 1930-1965 14 1,818

Oceania

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
OA1 Philippines 1900-1950 58 7,451
OA5 Apayo 1920-1950 -- --
OA14 Central Bisayan 1930-1950 -- --
OA19 Ifugao 1905-1965 29 2,973
OB1 Indonesia 1890-1950 18 4,367
OC6 Iban 1840-1970 18 1,655
OE5 Javanese 1850-1975 36 6,815
OF5 Alor 1935-1940 3 726
OF7 Bali 1930-1950 9 1,297
OF9 Flores 1900-1950 -- --
OG6 Makassar 1930-1945 1 379
OG11 Toradja 1920-1950 5 2,391
OH4 Ambon 1900-1950 -- --
OI8 Aranda 1890-1940 40 3,259
OI17 Murngin 1925-1950 15 1,731
OI19 Tasmanians 1800-1880 1 293
OI20 Tiwi 1900-1960 13 563
OJ13 Kwoma 1935-1938 2 501
OJ23 Orokaiva 1910-1970 27 2,263
OJ27 Wogeo 1930-1940 15 678
OJ29 Kapauku 1950-1955 5 869
OL6 Trobriands 1910-1950 24 2,991
OL7 Northeastern Massim 1900-1980 7 779
OM6 Manus 1928-1953 7 1,639
OM10 New Ireland 1925-1930 5 457
ON6 Buka 1890-1930 5 721
ON13 Santa Cruz 1900-1955 6 420
OO12 Malekula 1915-1935 3 883
OQ6 Lau 1910-1935 10 997
OR11 Marshalls 1810-1950 21 2,199
OR15 Belau 1914-1981 18 3,431
OR19 Truk 1900-1965 25 3,131
OR21 Woleai 1810-1950 41 2,665
OR22 Yap 1870-1970 21 1,951
OT11 Tikopia 1910-1960 26 2,727
OU8 Samoa 1800-1950 19 3,008
OU9 Tonga 1775-1970 105 8,364
OX6 Marquesas 1775-1955 13 1,163
OY2 Easter Islanders 1720-1950 15 960
OZ4 Maori 1900-1950 10 3,257
OZ11 Pukapuka 1900-1935 12 860

Russia

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
R1 Soviet Union 1910-1955 81 11,987
RB1 Baltic Countries 1920-1935 3 211
RB5 Lithuanians 1918-1940 11 990
RC1 Belorussia 1920-1950 5 191
RD1 Ukraine 1918-1950 20 2,219
RF1 Great Russia 1880-1950 4 386
RG4 Estonians 1900-1950 5 615
RH1 Caucasia 1900-1950 4 1,500
RI1 Georgia 1500-1935 5 759
RI3 Abkhaz 1850-1935 4 207
RL1 Turkestan 1850-1950 5 707
RL4 Turkic Peoples 1850-1915 1 235
RQ2 Kazak 1800-1950 6 919
RR1 Siberia 1900-1950 4 609
RU4 Samoyed 1800-1960 35 2,073
RV2 Yakut 1780-1930 32 933
RX2 Gilyak 1850-1930 13 2,281
RY2 Chukchee 1780-1930 21 2,191
RY3 Kamchadal 1750-1930 11 840
RY4 Koryak 1750-1950 5 810

South America

OWC Code Name of File Dates of Coverage No. of Sources No. of Text Pages
SA12 Garifuna 1945-1985 17 4,657
SA15 Mosquito 1920-1940 3 263
SA19 Talamanca 1763-1950 6 479
SB5 Cuna 1750-1940 34 3,932
SC7 Cagaba 1880-1950 7 1,134
SC13 Goajiro 1880-1955 10 724
SC15 Paez 1900-1950 8 700
SD6 Cayapa 1820-1960 4 747
SD9 Jivaro 1870-1960 34 1,426
SD13 Ecuadorian Highland Quechua 1935-1975 32 5,240
SE13 Inca 1500-1580 13 2,646
SF5 Aymara 1860-1965 14 1,772
SF10 Chiriguano 1900-1930 7 1,570
SF21 Siriono 1925-1940 5 692
SF24 Uru 1930-1955 9 434
SG4 Araucanians 1550-1955 12 1,397
SH4 Ona 1850-1940 4 2,198
SH5 Tehuelche 1820-1920 6 611
SH6 Yahgan 1850-1930 3 1,700
SI4 Abipon 1800-1820 2 452
SI7 Mataco 1890-1950 8 595
SI12 Toba 1830-1970 29 2,184
SK6 Choroti 1900-1910 2 523
SK7 Guana 1880-1955 6 407
SM3 Caingang (Aweikoma) 1900-1935 4 308
SM4 Guarani 1940-1960 6 484
SO8 Timbira 1900-1930 2 379
SO9 Tupinamba 1500-1675 26 1,637
SO11 Bahia Brazilians 1940-1960 5 1,333
SP7 Bacairi 1880-1940 6 1,085
SP8 Bororo 1900-1970 9 1,041
SP9 Caraja 1880-1950 9 687
SP17 Nambicuara 1900-1950 8 436
SP22 Tapirape 1930-1953 13 369
SP23 Trumai 1930-1950 1 120
SQ13 Mundurucu 1850-1955 14 649
SQ18 Yanoama 1950-1965 11 1,096
SQ19 Tucano 1950-1960 7 1,310
SQ20 Tucuna 1870-1935 5 259
SR8 Bush Negroes 1800-1955 6 1,411
SR9 Carib 1930-1970 2 532
SS16 Pemon 1935-1955 4 602
SS18 Warao 1850-1970 32 3,236
SS19 Yaruro 1930-1955 7 284
ST13 Callinago 1635-1950 13 524
SU1 Puerto Ricans-Island 1875-1990 19 4,191
SV3 Haiti 1930-1950 3 1,052
SY1 Jamaica 1920-1970 19 4,504

Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Bibliographer

Chris Smith's picture
Chris Smith
Contact:
jchris@bu.edu
Mugar Memorial Library
617-353-2376