Featured Book
-
The encouraging book that has guided thousands of students step by step through crafting a strong dissertation proposal is now in a thoroughly revised second edition. It includes new guidance for developing methodology-specific problem statements, an expanded discussion of the literature review, coverage of the four-chapter dissertation model, and more. Terrell demonstrates how to write each chapter of the proposal, including the problem statement, purpose statement, and research questions and hypotheses; literature review; and detailed plans for data collection and analysis. "Let's Start Writing" exercises serve as building blocks for drafting a complete proposal. Other user-friendly features include case-study examples from diverse disciplines, "Do You Understand?" checklists, and end-of-chapter practice tests with answers. Appendices present an exemplary proposal written three ways to demonstrate quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches, and discuss how to structure a four-chapter dissertation. New to This Edition *Introduction offering a concise overview of the entire proposal-writing process and the doctoral experience. *Additional help with tailoring problem and purpose statements for quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methods studies. *Expanded discussion of the review of literature, including a criterion for judging the quality of primary versus secondary sources. *Many new examples from different disciplines, such as studies of depression treatments, approaches to reducing offender recidivism, health effects of irradiated crops, strength training in college football, and remote teaching and learning during COVID-19. *Focus on the five-chapter model is broadened to include specific guidance for four-chapter dissertations. *Broader, more detailed reference list and glossary.
Writing Help
-
More Than Words
by
A veteran writing teacher argues that writing is a form of thinking and feeling and shows why it can't be replaced by AI. In the age of artificial intelligence, drafting an essay is as simple as typing a prompt and pressing enter. What does this mean for the art of writing? According to longtime writing teacher John Warner: not very much.
More Than Words argues that generative AI programs like ChatGPT not only can kill the student essay but should, since these assignments don't challenge students to do the real work of writing. To Warner, writing is thinking--discovering your ideas while trying to capture them on a page--and feeling--grappling with what it fundamentally means to be human. The fact that we ask students to complete so many assignments that a machine could do is a sign that something has gone very wrong with writing instruction. More Than Words calls for us to use AI as an opportunity to reckon with how we work with words--and how all of us should rethink our relationship with writing.
-
Generative AI Tools for StudentsCompiled by librarian Brock Edmunds for the BU community, this resource provides a great overview and organization of AI tools, including TerrierGPT.
-
Programs & Resources: Educational Resources CenterFor learners at all levels the BU Educational Resources Center offers peer tutoring, writing assistance, study habit coaching, and more.
-
Purdue OWL: Online Writing LabThe Purdue OWL is a very well-known and respected free service that includes tips on general writing, research and citation (including APA Style), job search writing, and more.
____________________________________________
Specific Types of Academic Writing
-
Writing a Literature Review (USC)This guide to writing a literature review covers different types, approaches to organization, best practices, and common errors to avoid.
-
Systematic Reviews in the Social SciencesA systematic review is a very thorough and comprehensive analysis of all relevant studies on a very specialized topic. A systematic review is a unique analysis on existing literature surrounding a focused research question using very strict criteria for what studies are included and excluded from the analysis.
-
Guide for Writers of Theses & DissertationsAre you working toward a dissertation? See formatting and submission guidelines at Boston University, dissertation finding aids, and more.
Citations: APA Style
-
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.
Publication Date: 2020The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work.
-
APA Style Home PageThis website by the APA provides a great amount of important info about the new edition. Open up the menu for Style and Grammar Guidelines and find easy listings for in-text citations, bias-free language and much more.
-
APA Style TutorialThis tutorial available from APA covers the basics, such as tables and figures, bias-free language guidelines, and in-text citations, paraphrasing, and quotations.
-
APA Style BlogSearch for answers to tricky citation questions on this useful blog related to the 7th edition.
-
From the APA Style Blog: How to Cite ChatGPTInsight into how to cite an AI platform - content not available in the print edition within the library.
-
APA Style Instructional AidsHandouts about the style and other aids, including a section titled How to Clearly Communicate Your Research.
Organize Your Work!
Students often ask me how best to organize their academic work.
In general, I most often recommend taking a project-based approach.
Just use "quick cite" features where you find them and copy and paste into the project you're working on!
Once your project is over, you are all set!
Both BU Libraries Search and Google Scholar offer a quick cite feature for each record. Look for the " icon.
This is becoming a standard option in other sources too. More quick citation resources may also suit your needs.
However, If you are completing an advanced project with a large number of sources, Zotero is an excellent choice that may really help.
Whatever you choose, be sure to check your citations carefully for errors!
