Data and Statistics

Boston University has institutional access to comprehensive data sets across disciplines. You can search BU's Database List for those most relevant to you. Or, evaluate a few of the many available to you below:

Policy Map 

• Downloadable U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county or census tract.

Social Explorer

• provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information, including 220 years of U.S. Census data, U.S. elections, crime, business, environmental, health, and religion data.

ICPSR Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research 

• World's largest archive of computer readable social science data in education, aging, criminal justice, and other fields.

Roper Center Public Opinion Archives 

• Data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.

Trends and Policy: U.S. Healthcare 

• This collection contains all major healthcare related public laws and Congressional hearings, legislative and executive branch reports, and statistical data series. 

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints 

• Covers opposing sides of the most current social issues, from offshore drilling to immigration.

China Data Online 

• Provides comprehensive updated information on China’s economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels

International Debt Statistics 

• Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for country economies. 

Wharton Research Data Services 

• Provides comprehensive sources of financial, accounting, economic, management, marketing, banking, and insurance data.

Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) 

• Provides media advertising rates, contact information, circulation information, etc. for magazine, newspaper, television, direct marketing, radio, online, and out-of-home domestic and international markets.

World Development Indicators 

• Contains statistics from over 200 countries including social, economic and financial indicators.

IMF eLibrary Data

• Provides access to Direction of Trade Statistics, International Financial Statistics, etc.

Data Axle Reference Solutions 

• Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, and more. 

MRI-Simmons Catalyst 

• Contains detailed consumer product and media data collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers.